Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 11, 2009 / 22 Elul 5769

Computing across Africa

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | JOHANNESBURG, South Africa— Botswana has great cellular data service. Wi-Fi at my hotel in Zambia was usually better than expected. And as you might expect, Jo'burg, as this city is also known, has excellent connections to the Internet and beyond.


I've wrapped up a quick trip to the southern portion of the continent, my first time in Africa in just over 10 years. On that earlier trip, I remember being impressed with a cyber cafe in Nairobi, Kenya, and the burgeoning cellular system in east Africa. What a difference a decade makes.


Most of my time was spent in Livingstone, Zambia, a not-so-smallish city in the southern part of the country, near Victoria Falls and on the Zambezi River; At the Protea Hotel, one could get Wi-Fi access to the Internet, provided by iSpot, a local service firm, but only in 60 minute increments, doled out by clerks at the hotel's front desk.


Well, the tickets read "one hour," but they also stated a maximum of 25 Mbytes of data transfer. Load too many Web pages, send too many e-mails — say a photo or two from a nearby camera safari where the giraffes, elephants and hippos were plenteous — and that "hour" can shrink to minutes.


By the end of my trip, I was up to two tickets at a time from the front desk; they were, after all, tiring of me coming back so often. While I realize that most people don't come to Livingstone for the Internet access, business travelers do have needs, and it turned out that last Monday was a "heavy" work day for me; something back home needed attention and I had to work very remotely. Perhaps the future will offer better data services, even this far from home.


Neighboring Botswana — the Chobe river and adjacent safari park is about 90 minutes from Livingstone via tour bus, ferry and safari-adapted pickup truck — was an amazing surprise in terms of cellular data as well as wildlife. Both Botswana and Zambia have cellular systems built on the Global Standard for Mobile, or GSM, format; it just seems that Botswana's is far more data-friendly, since in Zambia, I could only receive e-mail on my cell phone via the aforementioned Wi-Fi at the hotel.


Though I didn't see any computer shops in Livingstone (nor, frankly, did I seek out any), the penetration of computing is very strong. Conference-goers at the hotel almost uniformly toted laptop computers; hotel rooms at the Protea have flat-screen TVs, and the lobby was always a popular Wi-Fi "hotspot."


Indeed, the "netbook" craze can be found in Livingstone as much as in Laurel, Maryland: the iSpot Web page offers custom-configured netbooks at what seems to be a reasonable price, so I wouldn't be surprised if the small devices flood the market there as much as anywhere, at least among the upper middle class and higher levels of income. There are, of course, many people in Zambia for whom the dream of a computer would be just that. However, in visiting several churches in rural areas, I noticed a fair amount of computer equipment being used to run projection systems for meetings, and some of the church schools I saw under construction will also have computer facilities.


Getting to Zambia required stops in Johannesburg, and on my way home, I spent a night at the City Lodge Hotel near the O.R. Tambo International Airport. Here, the Wi-Fi was to die for: super-fast, reasonably priced at about $20 for four hours' service, and exceptionally reliable.


In London, the Sofitel Hotel at Heathrow's Terminal 5 is another dream spot: VGA and HDMI connections for your computer to use the large LG flat panel display, and reliable Wi-Fi at 15 British Pounds for a day's use. If only British Airways had something similar on the wireless side, I could file these words while flying home!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles