Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 4, 2009 / 15 Elul 5769

Acer Netbook a Net Gain for Travelers

By Mark Kellner



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | ABOARD BRITISH AIRWAYS FLIGHT 264 — Usually a trans-Atlantic flight while seated in coach means a loss of productive computing time. But the arrival on the market of various micro-notebook computers boasting Internet connectivity of some stripe, popularly dubbed "Netbooks," is changing things, at least for this road warrior.


I'm in the first leg of what will likely be a total of 20 hours in flight to reach my destination, the southern Zambian city of Livingstone. That's a lot of time in the air, and it's nice to have computer that's smaller than my 17-inch Apple MacBook Pro to place on the tray table. (As wonderful a system as the MacBook Pro is, I don't know if I'd open it in flight unless I were sitting in first class.)


Accompanying me (and the MacBook Pro) on this trip is the Acer Aspire One, which features what the Taiwan-based computer maker calls a "HD" screen, measuring 11.6 inches diagonally. The color LCD is quite nice, and the computer itself runs on an Intel Corp. Atom processor, has built-in Wi-Fi, and a Webcam which, the firm claims, adjusts to low-light situations.


The unit boasts a 160 Gigabyte hard disc drive, and — are my eyes trustworthy? — 1 GB of RAM. I'm guessing the weight is about 3 pounds. Overall, this isn't a machine on which you'd want to edit video for public television, but it certainly is a functional computer for many purposes.


I mentioned the "road warrior," and that's the first category of user who might find the Aspire One a useful product. The keyboard on the Aspire One is meant for touch-typing, and it's fairly comfortable, even within the confines (and I do mean confines) of an economy airplane seat. Although the passenger next to me is probably experiencing more of my left elbow than desired, I'm still able to type well, and in a more normal situation, such as a Starbucks or a hotel, this should work quite well. (And, indeed, on the ground I was proved correct.)


The screen is legible, and in the soft light of the late-night plane, increasing the font size to around 18 points makes word processing easier. Again, in more usual surroundings, this shouldn't be an issue.


The Aspire One comes with Microsoft Windows XP as the basic operating system, and a variety of programs and features — some less charitable souls might term some of these "bloatware" — that might make a user able to start working quickly. Among these are Microsoft Works, a scaled-back productivity suite, and a trial version of Microsoft Office 2007. Before leaving Washington, I loaded the latest version of OpenOffice.org's software, discussed here last Monday. I think I'm good to go.


While typing on an airplane requires compromises, on the ground the Aspire One should function nicely as a basic work and play computer. Indeed, students in high school and college who are not in need of vast processing power or the kind of memory needed to edit video or do computer-assisted design work, There's a card slot on the right-hand side of the machine which should make transferring photos easy.


Notable are both the Webcam and the built-in Wi-Fi. There's no Internet connectivity on this flight, so testing these aloft has been a challenge. But on the ground, the Wi-Fi worked well. With such connectivity, of course, the Aspire One can become an extension of the Internet, hence the name "netbook."


Battery life clocks in at almost seven hours, more than enough to cross the ocean, and enough perhaps for a day of college lectures and labs. The built-in touchpad has just about every mouse feature you might ask for, including tap-to-mouse-click, which is quite nice.


You can probably pick up this machine for under $375, which is an impressive price for what you get. But as mentioned, there are many firms in the netbook scrum, and Hewlett-Packard has sent over one of its latest entries. More on that system another time — it's at home, awaiting my return.


For now, the Acer Aspire One is proving a good traveling companion, and you might say the same.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2009, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles