Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 3, 2008 / 3 Elul 5768

Me for President

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Now that Barack Obama has a good shot at the presidency, I hold hopes that maybe I could make it, too.


Though our experiences and talents are entirely different, I, too, came from humble circumstances. The only boy, with five sisters, I had no brothers to teach me to fight. My sisters taught me.


One day when I was 12, the neighborhood bully was roughing me up. I gave him my meanest look and said, "You are soooooo immature! Get a life!"


I was humbled by a lack of money. Despite having no brothers, my father, always looking to save a buck, made me wear hand-me-downs. It wasn't too bad most of the year, but Easter Sunday was unpleasant. It was near impossible to outrun the neighborhood bully with my pantyhose bunching up and my bonnet flopping in the wind?


Unlike Barack, I had no early interest in politics, the presidency or my studies, and with good reason — the kids who were interested in such things frequently got wedgies. Instead, I threw myself into sports and extracurricular activities.


My efforts paid off. My lack of studying and devotion to extracurricular activities were the ideal preparations for Penn State University. It was there that I was introduced to my first love: Rolling Rock Beer. By the time I was a junior, I had attained, to quote comedian Frank Nicotero, a 3.2 (blood-alcohol level).


My father was panicked about my future. I was a liberal arts major, after all. Worried I'd never find a job, he persuaded me to take more practical courses. I was the only person ever to graduate from Penn State with a major in English and a minor in air conditioning and heating.


Despite my ways, I received my degree. Unlike Barack I didn't forgo a lucrative career to become a community organizer. I took the first job one fool company was crazy enough to offer me.


I've been stumbling along ever since. Today, I'm an independent writer who hacks out a living one brutal word after another to pay the onerous taxes that people like Barack have imposed on us.


It is true I never went to Harvard Law. I certainly wasn't elected president of the law review, as Barack was. I never held elected office in state politics and never even tried to run, let alone win, a seat in the U.S. Senate.


But as far as experience for the presidency goes, I'm not a heck of a lot less qualified than Barack. He has only 143 active days in the Senate more than I do (his job has mostly been to run for president the past two years).


He never ran a profit-or-loss enterprise of any kind. His record as a community organizer, lawyer and politician give little indication of boldness, leadership or results. It's anybody's guess how he might act as president. Sure, he gives an incredible speech and inspires millions with his presence.


His campaign has been remarkable in numerous respects. He's drawn millions into the political process.


Sure, despite his relative youth and inexperience, he toppled the Clinton machine. He is the first black to be nominated for the presidency, no small achievement and worthy of celebration no matter what one's politics are.


But when you consider the incredible criteria that must be met before taking on the world's most important job — when you consider that many of Barack's "solutions" involve a much more expansive government — you wonder why the press isn't probing his experience, abilities and ideas a great deal more.


I'm inspired that maybe I could be president, too. I could win votes by promising stuff to some people by using the might of the federal government to take money from others to pay for it.


I could easily win Pennsylvania and Ohio, two pivotal states in the upcoming election. I'd promise federally subsidized Rolling Rock to every beer drinker who trades me his vote.


Even an inebriated fellow in a pub would know that we're the drinkers we've been waiting for.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2008, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles