Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 9, 2008 / 9 Elul 5768

What I saw at the two conventions

By Dennis Prager


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I broadcasted my radio show from both the Democratic and Republican Conventions. Here are some observations:


1. The Democrats in Denver were very excited from Day One, just as excited as I saw them at their last convention in Boston. They went on to lose the general election. But I can see why Democrats find it hard to understand it when their candidate loses. At least at the last two Democratic Conventions, it has been very easy for Democrats to believe that they have the right man and the right message.


2. There were some differences, however. In Denver, the Democrats wanted to present themselves as Middle American as possible. In Boston, the hero of the Democratic Convention was Michael Moore. But in Denver, Michael Moore was nowhere to be seen. Nor was Jimmy Carter heard from. And no Jesse Jackson, either. Also, delegates seemed more formally dressed, and there were more flags and more chants of "USA" than even at the Republican Convention. If one only looked at the convention, one could easily have assumed it was the Republicans'.


3. The Republicans had no Day One because of Hurricane Gustav and John McCain's decision to limit the first night's activities to obligatory business. This helped the Republicans insofar as it eliminated Bush-Cheney political liabilities (neither ended up attending), but it had a temporarily dampening effect on morale — which was not completely undone the second night. It was more than undone the third night with the speeches by, among others, Mike Huckabee, Rudy Giuliani and, of course, Sarah Palin. Gov. Palin is as striking in person as she is on television and in photographs. It is difficult, if not impossible, to overstate the impact of her being named the Republicans' vice-presidential nominee.


4. The Democrats have a superstar candidate who was previously unknown, and the Republicans have a superstar candidate who was previously unknown. The former is a young African-American running for president; the latter is a young woman running for vice president. It is unlikely that there is one person on earth who predicted the four nominees.


5. At the Democratic Convention, I spoke to a number of blacks, on the radio and privately, who predicted that if Barack Obama loses, most blacks will attribute the loss to racism, especially if McCain wins by a narrow margin. They did not even rule out the possibility of some rioting.


6. On the final evening of the Republican Convention, I sat in a suite with Medal of Honor recipients. I rarely find myself speechless, and never find myself intimidated. I did then. I was in the presence of real heroism, of men who really had done great things. I didn't know what to say to them. I was like a kid seated next to his greatest sports or movie idols. I wondered, though, how many Americans, if given a choice between spending an evening with Medal of Honor recipients or movie stars would choose the former.


7. As noted, the Democrats waved many flags. At Invesco Field, where Obama addressed 75,000 supporters, the Democrats gave all of them an American flag. According to The Denver Post, thousands of those flags were left behind or in garbage bags. The Democrats say they intended to pick them up days later for other events. I don't believe them — not because they are not patriotic (the people I was with at Invesco Field love America), but because they are generally tone deaf to patriotic symbols. My one souvenir from the Democratic Convention is a flag I found on the floor by my seat at the stadium. I instinctively picked up a flag that had fallen and took it home. That is no longer a liberal instinct.


8. The exit from Invesco was chaotic. No provisions for transportation were made, and tens of thousands of people walked long distances. We were literally fenced in until someone tore down a segment of fence, and thousands then climbed over concrete barriers to get out.


9. History will judge whether Obama made a wise decision to deliver his acceptance in a football stadium in front of 75,000 adoring fans. A good argument could be made that it is not his superstar status that he should be emphasizing, but his gravitas.


10. After attending the Democratic Convention, the lack of blacks (and Hispanics) at the Republican Convention was jarring. Former RNC Chair Ken Mehlman made serious efforts to bring African-Americans into the party, but apparently to little avail. Given the troubled state of virtually every inner city governed by Democrats and the Democrats' opposition to school vouchers, one would think more blacks would at least give the Republicans a try. Not this year.


11. For the first time in generations, one party's ticket has no military experience. It does, however, have two lawyers. And neither of the Republican nominees is a lawyer. These facts are not coincidental.


12. After my debate with Air America's Thom Hartmann in Denver, a number of those present — all Democrats — commented on how surprised they were at how intellectual the arguments I, the conservative, offered were. This is only because, in general, most liberals see, hear or read conservative arguments far less often than conservatives see, hear and read liberal arguments.


13. What Sen. Joe Lieberman did — speaking at the Republican Convention on behalf of its presidential nominee — took immense courage. It is likely that many longtime friends have abandoned him. What he did is also quite dramatic. He was, after all, the Democrats' nominee for vice president of the United States just eight years ago.


14. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at both conventions. But those watching on television miss little. In fact, everyone I spoke to who watched McCain's speech on TV thought it more moving than many of us who were there.

JWR contributor Dennis Prager hosts a national daily radio show based in Los Angeles. He the author of, most recently, "Happiness is a Serious Problem". Click here to comment on this column.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Dennis' Archives 8, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles