Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 5, 2008 / 5 Elul 5768

Fort ushers outsiders into different world

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The security officer at Fort Riley has a neck the size of a mature redwood and a voice to match. "WELCOME TO BIG RED ONE!"

For the husband and me, this is our first time "on post" as they say at the Army's First Infantry Division. We show IDs, vehicle registration and proof of insurance. We must also state our business. Our daughter leans forward to tell security we are dropping her off at an FRG meeting at the Conference Center.

They speak a language all their own here. FRG means family readiness group (families within a unit that support one another), ACU means Army combat uniform, families shop at the PX and MPs will get you for driving while talking on a cell.

Oh, and if someone mentions a full bird, don't scan the sky, it means there is a colonel in the vicinity.

Security approves our entry and shouts, "DUTY FIRST!" We ease on to a smooth two-lane and enter a parallel world.

Fort Riley blankets a swath of beautiful prairie known as the Kansas Flint Hills. The wind is always blowing, but it is more stinging than soothing. As our son-in-law who is stationed here noted, "It's like a blow dryer pointed directly at your face." Scraggly cottonwoods provide the only relief from the blistering sun.

Our road takes us by schools, a day care, the hospital, a skating rink, a quick mart, several gas stations and soccer fields. It seems like any other community, and then the ground rumbles from distant artillery fire serving as a reminder that those were not ordinary strip malls and we are far from the burbs.

Railroad tracks that transported troops and artillery in World War II wind through the fort. Long lines of flatbed cars will carry trucks, tanks and armored vehicles to be shipped out for the next deployment.

New barracks are under construction. Each one looks like a Comfort Inn with no signage and a neutral palette.

Small row houses with narrow front yards constitute family housing. Some have tall fences to accommodate dogs, others have plastic play toys, or a picnic table and a Weber grill.

Nearly all the women shopping at the commissary have squirming children in tow. They are so very young — both the mothers and the kids. A sign declares an average savings of 32 percent by shopping here. A pack of boneless chicken breasts sells for $3.

A good deal — or a small perk for a big sacrifice.

The military spills beyond the boundaries of the fort and into the college town of Manhattan, Kan. Every parking lot is dotted with vehicles displaying red and blue Fort Riley stickers in the front windshield. License plates are from Texas, Missouri, Alabama, New York, North Carolina and Alaska. And then there are the bumper stickers: I (heart) My Soldier; Army Wife, and Half My Heart is in Iraq.

Young men from Kansas State load up on junk food in the same Wal-Mart aisle as young men in uniform fresh from a tour of Iraq.

You cannot buy a hamburger or grab an ice cream cone in this town without encountering someone in camo and boots. They are the living, breathing reminders that their rhythm of life makes our rhythm of life possible. They are our backbone, the ones who do the hard work of war while the rest of us are at home fluffing the cushions.

It is good to be reminded, because we can so easily forget.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2008, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles