Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 19, 2007 / 7 Tishrei 5768

An obligation to provide avowed enemies with utility services?

By Ed Koch


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I had some interesting correspondence with an Israeli human rights advocacy group which I would like to share with you. My letter read as follows:


"I read with interest an Associated Press report in which you were quoted in response to the Israeli government's threat "to hit the services that supply the Gaza Strip from the State of Israel," a reference to electricity, fuel and water provided to the inhabitants of the Gaza Strip by Israel. Your comment was, 'Deliberately targeting civilians, in Gaza or Sderot, is neither legal nor moral.'


"It is my understanding that the Hamas government of Gaza has said that it is at war with the State of Israel and will not recognize any prior agreements entered into with Israel by its predecessor government in which the major party was Fatah. Nor would it renounce violence. It is also my understanding that for those reasons, the United States, the European Union and others will not recognize the Hamas government in Gaza. If those are the facts, could you please cite the laws, international or other, on which you are relying that would require the State of Israel to continue to provide electricity, fuel and water to a government in a state of war against it and currently allows different terrorist factions in Gaza to operate freely and launch missiles against communities like Sderot, situated in the State of Israel.


"As you know, there have been casualties and I believe some deaths of Israeli civilians over the last several years as a result of those missile attacks. The most recent missiles fell near an Israeli schoolyard. If Israel does not take other military measures against the Hamas government which it has every right to do under the right of self-defense provided under the United Nations Charter, is it, in your opinion, prohibited from taking less aggressive action such as the cutting off of electricity, fuel and water?


"During World War II, had Great Britain been supplying electricity to Germany, would Great Britain have been required to continue to do so after Neville Chamberlain declared a state of war existed between the two countries as a result of Germany's invasion of Poland?


"I was mayor of New York City from 1978 through 1989. I am now both a lawyer and journalist. I would appreciate your comments for the purposes of publication. All the best."


I received a response from Sari Bashi, Director of Gisha. She wrote, "It is a pleasure to hear from you. I grew up in New Jersey, and my mother, a New York resident, has always been one of your biggest fans. She always told me how she identified with your directness and your love for New York -- two characteristics that she shares. Thank you for your interest. I will address your question, and I would also like to refer you to some documents that provide more detail, if you are interested, especially a position paper Gisha has issued, Disengaged Occupiers: The Legal Status of Gaza, which is available at www.gisha.org ."


The position paper that Ms. Bashi referred to can be found at: www.gisha.org/UserFiles/File/Report%20for%wothe%20website.pdf


The correspondence relates to Israel's potential responses to the missile attacks by Palestinian terrorist groups in Gaza. In its basic covenant, the Hamas government in Gaza reiterated that it is at war with Israel and will not prevent attacks upon Israel initiated by any group residing in Gaza.


The Israeli government, now engaged in peace talks with the government of Abu Abbas on the West Bank, is reluctant to use military force to enter Gaza to stop the shelling of its citizens. Instead, the Israeli government is considering using other means, e.g., the cutting off of electricity and water that it now provides the Hamas government and residents of Gaza. The advocacy group takes the position that to thus retaliate would be illegal, notwithstanding, she wrote, that "the Qassan rockets on Sderot violate international law, and they must stop."


So, how does Israel stop them? Those rockets have injured and killed Israeli citizens. Most recently, they fell on an Israeli schoolyard that fortunately was empty of children at the time. It would truly be an Alice In Wonderland world if Israeli citizens were deprived of the protection of their government from missiles fired against them. The United Nations charter specifically affirms that every country has the right to defend itself. The conduct of Hamas is so outrageous that even the European Union, no friend of Israel, has labeled it a terrorist organization and refuses to do business with it. That includes France, first under then President Chirac and currently under President Sarkozy.


But it was interesting for me that my correspondence is with a woman who writes, "I grew up in New Jersey, and my mother, a New York resident, has always been one of your biggest fans." We live in a small, and sometimes, bizarre world.


The New York Times reported on September 8th, "Because the Hamas charter calls for Israel's destruction and Hamas is classified by Israel, the United States and the European Union as a terrorist group, Israel, along with much of the world, is squeezing Gaza, allowing only goods classified as humanitarian or essential to enter and no exports at all to leave. So an already faltering economy is collapsing." The Times did not, so far as I know, raise the issue of illegality.


Because I would like to accommodate Ms. Bashi, knowing that her mother is a New York resident, let me suggest a compromise: Israel should provide water and electricity to Gaza at breakfast time for an hour at most each day, and then shut down the services for the balance of the day. If the missiles continue for a week, Israel should stop providing the services altogether.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2007, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles