Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 12, 2007 / 29 Elul, 5767

We've taught the Iraqis to ‘walk’ now it's time for us to

By Ed Koch


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | An HBO documentary entitled, "Alive Day Memories, Home From Iraq," was shown this weekend and undoubtedly will be shown again repeatedly. Don't miss it. It has James Gandolfini interviewing ten seriously injured soldiers and marines, both men and women, injured in Iraq. Their grave injuries include amputations of limbs, brain injuries and loss of sight in both eyes. The demeanor, courage and integrity of each of those interviewed is outstanding. It is not their intention to have the audience weep, but weep you will as I did. Their purpose is to bring home to you what war actually is without conveying a political point of view. If you miss this film, you will miss an insight into Iraq worth more than the analyses made every Sunday morning across the nation by the talking heads who do their best and should be appreciated and heard. But theirs is as they say, talk and talk is cheap. The comments of the military personnel who have lived through battle, been gravely wounded and are willing to talk about it is special, very special. The program is not to be missed.


The film crawls mention that 90 percent of all battlefield casualties are saved from death by the immediate medical care available. Also that more amputations are coming out of this war then took place in the American Civil War. Then there were no antibiotics available to treat infection and resultant gangrene. Much is made of the new personal celebration day of every wounded soldier called "Alive Day" — the day they were wounded and found themselves to be still alive, counting, as one of the soldiers reported, their fingers, toes, arms and legs, immediately after the explosion to see what was missing, saying, "I can live with that." These heroes will make you proud. They are not seeking your pity. They simply want you to know what has and continues to happen.


The morning after seeing the documentary, I saw a full-page ad in The New York Times prepared and paid for by MoveOn.org, a liberal activist group against the Iraq war for immediate withdrawal of all U.S. troops. I think it is fair to state that MoveOn.org is a radical left organization financed in part by George Soros. The supporters of that organization irrespective of how they feel about our involvement in the Iraq war should condemn those in charge of the organization and withhold future contributions to it because of that ad.


Its banner headline under a picture of General Petraeus reads, "General Petraeus or General Betray Us?" In advance of his report to take place Monday afternoon — the ad appeared on Monday morning — it in effect calls him a liar, ending with the line, "Today before Congress and before the American people, General Petraeus is likely to become General Betray Us."


How vile for any of us having read or heard of the sacrifices of those in the military serving in Iraq to have a courageous General, highly respected and considered by nearly everyone in the Congress, many of whom disagree with him and his report, to be a man of integrity intelligence and courage. Every decent person and responsible presidential candidate, Democrat and Republican, should denounce MoveOn.org, and if they are associated with the organization, not only denounce it, but demand it retract the ad with a superseding one apologizing for the slur. They should withdraw future support from the organization.


It is simply unacceptable to demean in this way a General of the U.S. Army who is serving his country in an honorable way. As a result of the decision in New York Times v. Sullivan, assuring greater public debate without fear of lawsuits charging libel and slander, public personalities are effectively barred from bringing lawsuits against those who unfairly demean their reputations. It becomes the responsibility of a fair-minded American public to rise up and denounce the libelers and slanderers who abuse this right to nearly unlimited public discourse.


I've read the testimony of both General Petraeus and Ambassador Crocker, and I've watched them on television. I have no doubt that both provided testimony they believe accurately described the military and political conditions existing in Iraq. I believe we and our regional Arab and NATO allies should be fighting in Iraq the Islamic terrorists who are seeking to make Iraq a permanent base from which they will attack Western countries and moderate Arab countries not joining them in their war against Western civilization. But we cannot do it alone. We cannot continue to expend the blood and lives of our young men and women on the battlefields of Iraq when no one else is willing to join with us. The cost in lives, blood and treasure is just too much for us to bear alone. Next year, the same civil war between Sunni and Shia will continue, as it has for 1,375 years, and I have no doubt that the Bush Administration will again ask the Congress for a little more time.


The Iraqi Army has now had more than three years of training by the American military. It had been an army that fought an eight-year war with Iran (1980-1988) and was once the most feared and largest standing army in the region — 500,000 in 1985. The question I continually ask is, why is it not currently possible for it to fight and defeat Iraqi insurgents - their own fellow citizens and al-Qaeda, all with even less training. If they can't do it, we can't and shouldn't do it for them.


We should get out now. It might wake up our Western world allies on the need for them to do their part and not simply count on us doing their share as well as ours.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2007, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles