Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 11, 2006 / 18 Elul, 5766

Thank You, Mr. President

By Seth Swirsky

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | President Bush's approval ratings in the polls continue to be mired in the low 40s. Many Republicans up for reelection are keeping their distance from his policies on the Iraq war. Pakistan has granted safe haven to Osama bin Laden. Even a well-publicized movie at the Toronto Film Festival is about his imagined assassination. These are tough days for our 43rd president.


Yet, today, on this fifth anniversary of 9/11, President Bush deserves our praise for the actions he's taken that have kept our country and its citizens safe. Those steps, which include the The Patriot Act, NSA spying, the institution of the first-ever Department of Homeland Security, and the innovative terror alert system, have worked beyond anyone's expectations when, post 9/11, everyone thought of another terrorist attack in terms of "when" — not "if".


Thank you, Mr. President.


And, as if keeping 300 million Americans safe from unimaginable acts of terror wasn't difficult enough, this has been accomplished despite The New York Times' exposure of our military and intelligence secrets for all — including our enemies — to see. It's been accomplished even as Democrats have vigorously opposed — for political purposes — common sense tools to help thwart terror attacks, like the program that allows us to intercept our enemies phone conversations. But, Mr. Bush doesn't play politics with our lives — he protects them.


Thank you, Mr. President.


In this new kind of asymmetrical war we're in, victories aren't always obvious. But, five years without another 9/11-style attack — one that all Americans believed would surely come — is certainly a marker for success. Imagine the criticism of the president if a single attack had succeeded! To Democrats who today argue that we are "less safe" than we were after 9/11, I say, there's no number lower than zero.


No one knows what the coming days and months will bring. Iran, is feverishly working to create nuclear weapons. British Muslims, thwarted in their plot to blow up America-bound airplanes in mid-air, are certain to try again. Kim Jong-Il continues to threaten to test his nuclear missiles, which threaten our west coast. No one can guarantee the safety of so many people, especially in the open society in which we live. But, with President Bush's impressive track record these past five years vis--vis our security, we, at the very least know, that our president is completely focused on our safety. For this he deserves our gratitude.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Seth Swirsky is a songwriter, author, recording artist and memorabilia collector. His hits include Love Is A Beautiful Thing for Al Green, Tell It To My Heart and Prove Your Love for Taylor Dayne, Instant Pleasure for Rufus Wainwright, amongst others. His trilogy of bestselling books consisting of his correspondence with baseball players are called Baseball Letters (Crown, 1996), Every Pitcher Tells A Story (Times Books, 1999) and Something to Write Home About (Random House, 2003). His personal collection consists of the ball that went through Bill Buckner's legs in the 1986 World Series, Reggie Jackson’s 3rd home run ball from the ‘77 Series and the letter banning "Shoeless" Joe Jackson from Baseball. His own cd, Instant Pleasure, won Best Pop Album at the 2005 L.A. Music Awards. Currently, he is making a bookumentary called “Beatles Stories”. A graduate of Dartmouth College, his eclectic world can be seen and heard at his site, Seth.com.

© 2006, Seth Swirsky

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles