Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 5, 2006 / 12 Elul, 5766

Mets' Green won't downplay his Jewishness

By Steve Popper


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

And the Members of the Tribe are appreciative


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) It was one of his first days with the Mets, a coincidence that the Mets are quick to point out, but Shawn Green arrived at Shea Stadium last Sunday to find himself the main attraction on Jewish Heritage Day.


Rain postponed the game, but for a contingent of media that had come for the promotion rather than the game, it didn't matter. Instead, while his new teammates were making their plans for their suddenly-created day off, Green came out of the locker room to meet with a group of 15 to 20 reporters, most from Jewish publications that had little interest in the day-to-day workings of the Mets.


But they wanted to speak to Green because he is the latest in a lineage that spans from Hank Greenberg to Sandy Koufax and now to him — the face of the Jewish ballplayer. And he was now in New York, traded just five days earlier from Arizona, telling stories about how his longtime friend and now a reunited teammate, Carlos Delgado, had taped a yarmulke to his bald head to serve as part of Green's wedding party.


"I wasn't expecting the type of reception I got," Green said, describing not only the attention from Jewish publications, but also the huge ovation that greeted his arrival for every at-bat at Shea. "I think, for me, it's going to help me be more successful. I feel like over the years I've performed better with the more support I got."


It seems as if he will get that support in New York, where he already has been fitted as the face of the more than 1 million Jewish people who live in the city. It was the team's chances to win a World Series that spurred him to waive the no-trade clause and allow the trade, but he admitted that filling the role of the idol of kids — the same way that their fathers may have revered Koufax — was something he has warmed to now.


"Yeah, I mean, it's something early in my career I shied away from — New York — for a lot of reasons," Green said. "At this stage of my career I feel like I'm a lot more prepared in all aspects on how to handle the requests and all the different things.


"Early in my career I couldn't say no. I knew if I came to a place — really, New York is the only place — I'd be overwhelmed. As far as on the field, my skin's gotten thicker over the years to handle that. Off the field, I think I know how to balance my time better."


The subject of religion and being placed in the glare is an odd spot for Green. He didn't grow up particularly religious and his grandfather had even shortened the family name from Greenberg to Green. But in 2001, while a member of the Los Angeles Dodgers, he found himself on the spot — deciding to skip a game in the heat of the pennant race against the rival Giants to observe Yom Kippur, the Jewish Day of Atonement.


It was the first time in his career that he had to take a game off to observe the holiday and brought back memories for many of Koufax, who had skipped Game 1 of the 1965 World Series in observance of the holiday. And for Green, it was Koufax who helped him through the predicament.


"Actually, all the years in L.A., down in spring training I went to dinner with Sandy Koufax," Green said. "He talked to me about it and who better than him? He gave me advice — you've got to do what you feel is right when it comes to this decision. That's what I've tried to do.


"When it came to Yom Kippur, I had to do what was consistent with my own beliefs rather than what everyone else expected. As far as off-the-field stuff, there's only a few Jewish players in the game and there's a ton of Jewish fans. I do what I can and that's all I can do."


The Mets can rest easy — although with owner Fred Wilpon, a childhood friend of Koufax, he'd likely understand — as Yom Kippur falls between the end of the regular season and the start of the playoffs this year.


Still, the requests have come in steadily since his arrival, but with the help of Mets PR man Jay Horwitz — who has willingly renounced the title that he held in the words of Pedro Martinez, as "The handsomest Jew in New York" — he has pushed aside most until after the season. And then he wants to step into a prominent place in the community.


"Right now, not only is it a month before the playoffs, but moving into a new team, a new city, trying to get my family settled, it's not a good time to dive into that aspect," he said. "But it's something that next year I want to be in New York and kind of not just go there and play baseball. I want to be a part of their Jewish community."


But at Shea and in the Jewish community alike, performance counts. Since arriving in New York he's gone 6-for-24 with five RBI entering Thursday's game. But if support means anything, his numbers will be there.


"It's been great," he said. "Even on the road, I've seen some people who come up to me and say, `Hey, I'm Jewish. We're happy to have you.' It feels good. I just want to go out and perform well for them."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes inspiring articles. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


© 2006, North Jersey Media Group Inc. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services