Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 25, 2006 / 3 Tishrei, 5767

Terrorism? No! Wussification? Yes!

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There's a reason Middle Eastern men riot and kill people every time somebody says or does something they don't like: testosterone. There's a solution, too: "wussification."

Maybe I better explain.

Testosterone has long been a problem for civil society. Most violent crimes are caused by it. Most car wrecks, too. Younger men, cursed with an abundance of the stuff, are often reckless and destructive and eager to fight at the drop of a hat.

The key to civil society has been to properly channel testosterone. My father, to cite a common example, married at 23 and directed his hard-charging energies to good use. He worked hard to provide for his young family.

Big changes

But over the last 40 years, as our society has become more "progressive," we've found another solution to the challenges of testosterone: We've gotten rid of it. We've gotten rid of it because women don't want it anymore.

In the old days, see, when a man channeled his testosterone to good ends — when he was able to win a woman's affection by performing for her — even a bald, chubby guy could land a decent wife so long as he had a CPA.

But women don't need us to provide for them anymore. What's worse is they now do to us what we've long done to them — judge us by our looks. Then they demand that we understand them and fulfill their deepest emotional needs.

American men, trying to become what women say they want, have been transformed as a result. We thumb through Men's Fitness (Men's Twitness?) to master "101 gut loss tips." We're desperate to remake ourselves into lean, mean, pretty-boy machines.

And we've gotten in touch with our feminine side. We mist up at wedding showers. We're as agile at Bed, Bath & Beyond as we used to be at the Keg & Barrel.

Evidence of our transformation is all around us. Most every man on the tube is portrayed as a hapless idiot — especially if he is a father. But every woman on television is measured, confident, smart and strong. She's able to kick the pudding out of any man.

And a man fears nothing more than a woman with a hair-trigger kneecap.

Weapon for good

The short of it: We've become a country of wusses. Were we not at war, I might decry our transformation. But then I had a realization: Our wussification is the greatest weapon we have in the war on terror.

I hereby propose an innovative new program: AmeriWomanCorps. Here's how it will work: American women, in service to their country, will sign up for a six-month or one-year tour of duty. They will be dispatched to live and work in the Middle East just as they do in America.

The program may be rocky at first. American women, unfamiliar with testosterone, will initially be puzzled by Middle Eastern men. Say what you will about those boys, but they're loaded with the stuff. Likewise, Middle Eastern men, used to bossing their women around, will have no idea what our women are about to do to them.

The transformation will be swift. Instead of going to the gym to prepare for the next terrorist attack, Middle Eastern men will soon find themselves obsessing over building six-pack abs.

Instead of spending weeks training for jihad in the mountains, they'll be at the salon getting manicures. They'll spend hours watching the Lifetime channel or "The View" or other estrogen-laced broadcasts ("Osama bin Oprah"?).

Instead of spending hours fomenting their hatred of the Great Satan, they'll be at the mall lugging around shopping bags and shaking their heads vigorously when their American girlfriends ask, "Does this make me look fat?"

I know religious extremism is the real cause of the threat we face, but testosterone is the fuel. Wussification will sap our enemies of that fuel and the terrorist threat will be forever thwarted.

It's not possible to massacre innocent civilians when you're worried about scuffing up your Bruno Magli shoes.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles