Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 15, 2006 / 22 Elul, 5766

Sprint's Palm worth carrying

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Spend six days of traveling with the Palm Treo 700wx "smartphone," just released for Sprint customers, and you might come away with the impressions I've had: This is an interesting device and it might make my life a lot easier.


If that sounds a tad ambiguous, it's not meant to be. On its own, the phone is a very good, PCS-based cell phone and personal organizer.


It's handy — not tiny, but handy — and it performs its tasks well.


The uncertainty, and it's only a slight one, comes from the continuing merger of Palm's hardware with the Windows Mobile 2003 operating system from Microsoft.


As mentioned in an earlier review, the idea is for Palm to more easily penetrate the corporate market, which thrives on standards such as Microsoft's operating systems. Having one of those systems on a Palm device makes it easier to justify buying one, in the view of some corporate information technology (IT) types.


Fair enough, but at the end of every corporate purchasing decision is a user who has to live with the consequences. Living with the Treo 700wx may not be all that bad.


As a phone, it works as well as the Sprint network, which, I found in San Diego and Salt Lake City and briefly in Denver, is pretty good. Sound quality is good, and dialing is very easy. Start entering a phone number on the main screen and you are into the dialing process. Press the green "phone" button on the left front side (the "red" one on the right is for powering on and off the device and its phone connection) and you get a quick list of recently called people.


Phone numbers in contact records and e-mail messages are highlighted for easy dialing — two taps with a stylus on the screen and you are calling.


This is a useful feature, and the contact side, of course, synchronizes with Microsoft Outlook, though I have not tried it with the Outlook 2007 beta version.


As with other Treo smartphones, the new unit has Web browsing capabilities, from a pocket version of Microsoft's Internet Explorer. Though not perfect — you must navigate regular Web site windows on a very small screen — it was good enough to allow me to sign on and use some editing tools and update a Web site I help manage. There is a "full screen" viewing option that widens the perspective a bit, but no "landscape" mode to let you see even more.


Using the device for e-mail — I was able to set up a couple of accounts that way — I had few problems sending or receiving e-mail. There is also a "messaging" feature that lets you handle short SMS messages to other cell phones or e-mail users.


The built-in, 1.3 megapixel camera was quite useful. On several walking tours of Salt Lake City, I carried it instead of a regular digital camera. The photo quality ranged from good to excellent, and I was glad I had this feature. Photos can be transferred via wired connection to a computer, via SecureDigital flash memory card or sent from the phone via e-mail.


Missing is the familiar Palm OS interface and the many Palm-friendly applications. Missing, too, is simple compatibility with Macintosh. Finally, an equivalent to Sprint's "Power Vision" service that delivers streaming audio and video is lacking.


If I were a Sprint customer and had to "make nice" with my corporate IT folks, I'd carry this device. If ITisn't too important, I'd take the Treo version with the neat video feeds.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles