Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 26, 2006 / 4 Tishrei, 5767

Those voices in our heads

By David Grimes

Grimes
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I was extremely relieved to learn that not all people who hear voices in their head are crazy.


According to researchers at the University of Manchester, a certain percentage of healthy (or at least undiagnosed) people hear voices in their head and some find the experience to be positive or even inspirational.


This certainly is good news for someone like me, who has so many voices in his head that he needs a moderator. Sometimes the voices ... sometimes the voices.... Sorry; one of the voices was urging me to take a break from this column and go out to lunch, maybe have a cheeseburger, work the crossword, come home and take a little nap. Like the researchers at the University of Manchester said, certain voices can be extremely positive.


The hardest thing about hearing voices in your head is knowing when not to listen to them. Sick people who hear voices sometimes commit terrible crimes; my bad voices tell me to foozle my golf ball into an alligator-infested bog.


Good voice: You have pulled off this shot many times before. Go get 'em, kid!


Marginally Good Voice: You can do this. There is nothing different now except that you have $20 riding on the outcome, not to mention the ignominious death of a $5 Titleist and, of course the merciless ribbing you will be forced to endure in the clubhouse. Good luck.


Bad Voice: Perfect. One shot for all the marbles and you're the one who has to take it. Do you remember what you did the last time you were in a situation like this? That's right, you choked. May as well have swallowed a fish bone. Shanked it out-of-bounds and took, as I recall, a smooth 12. Glad it's you and not me, pal.


Very Bad Voice: Have you had a doctor look at that lump on your neck?


Golfers are not the only ones who hear voices, of course, though they are well-represented. Married people also hear voices. In fact, the din is so incessant that it almost becomes background noise.


Wife: Does this dress make me look fat?


Husband's Good Voice: Heavens to Betsy no, honey! If you were any thinner, people would be wondering if I were married to Calista Flockhart. Shouldn't you take my credit card and go out and buy yourself a whole new wardrobe to celebrate your waifish figure?


Husband's Bad (And Soon to Be Eternally Silent) Voice: Compared to what? A walrus? Ha-ha! Just kidding! I said I was just kidding! No! Don't! Arrgghhh!!


The workplace also inspires the voices, especially during staff meetings.


Boss: Today we will be talking about market share as it relates to product viability as referenced against brand recognition multiplied by the thread-count of my new sheets. Let us begin


Good Voice: I think I'll take notes so I can really do well on my project and get a promotion!


Bad Voice: Secret agent man, secret agent man He's given you a number and taken 'way your name Drr de de de da da da drr de de de da da da drr

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor David Grimes is a columnist for The Sarasota Herald Tribune. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Sarasota Herald Tribune

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles