Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 7, 2014 / 11 Menachem-Av, 5774

Life in the Not-So-Fast Lane

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) My mother used to say things just to make me mad. Like most teenagers, I thought I knew everything. And what I didn’t know, I didn’t want to be told.

She didn’t care. She was a grown woman, twice my age, highly educated in the school of hard knocks, and apparently felt it her appointed duty to make my blood boil on occasion like cold water in hot grease.

For example. If I said I was going to a movie or a basketball game or a sleepover at my friend Martha’s house (I loved going to Martha’s house, her mother never made my blood boil) my mother would roll her eyes.

“I should’ve named you ‘Go’! ” she’d say. “Go is all you do!”

“Don’t worry,” I’d say, just to make her mad. “Pretty soon I won’t be going. I’ll be gone.”

On my way out the door, she’d yell, “You need to slow yourself down before something bad does it for you! You don’t want to learn that the hard way!”

I had no idea what that meant. I thought she just wanted me to stay home with her and watch reruns of “Hee Haw.” If that was her plan, it didn’t work.

Many years later, to my mother’s great delight, I had three teenagers of my own. They thought they knew everything. And what they didn’t know, they didn’t want to be told. I would say the same kinds of things to them that she had once said to me (if in somewhat less colorful language) with the same woeful lack of success.

That’s when I first saw it. My mother wasn’t trying to make me watch “Hee Haw.” She was trying to spare me grief.

Why do we always have to learn things “the hard way”? Why can’t we just accept the wisdom our elders try to offer us _ things they had to learn “the hard way” because they refused to accept it from their elders?

You should see how big I grin when I hear my children tell my grandchildren, “You need to slow yourself down ….”
I can almost hear my mother’s voice adding, “before something bad does it for you.”

It’s a good lesson for any age. Apparently, I’ve yet to learn it.

That thought lit up my mind yesterday like a bolt of lightning as I lay on a gurney getting my foot X-rayed. Hours earlier, I had just stepped out of the shower when I heard my cell phone ringing far off out in the kitchen.

What is it about cell phones that makes us act as if they must be obeyed, no matter what, no matter where, no matter who on Earth is calling? Why didn’t I just let it go to voice mail?

My mother never had a cell phone. I can only imagine what she’d have to say on the subject.

Grabbing a towel, I ran barefoot through the house at a surprisingly fast clip, skidded sideways into the kitchen and all in one move, grabbed the phone and rammed my left foot like a torpedo into the table.

Fortunately, the call had gone to voice mail so the caller was spared hearing the manner in which I answered. I don’t recall all I said. I can assure you it was not the kind of message you’d want to record as a greeting.

Meanwhile, my foot was looking a lot like an overgrown eggplant, swollen and purple, with the toes splayed in a wide “V,” as if flashing a peace sign.

The X-ray revealed both good news and bad. The good was that I didn’t need surgery. The bad was that I’d broken not one toe, but two, and for four to six weeks would have to wear (yes, the rest of the summer) a “post-op” shoe that looks like a mini-surfboard with Velcro straps.

I told you all of that to say this: We all need to slow ourselves down once in a while, before something bad does it for us. My mother, rest her soul, was right. About a lot of things. I wish I could tell her. Maybe one day I will.

She’ll probably make me spend eternity watching reruns of “Hee Haw.”


Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




© 2014, Distributed by MCT Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast