Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 8, 2013/ 2 Elul, 5773

Latest political scandals seem like reruns --- in fact, they seem like parodies of themselves

By Martin Schram




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We are all caught in the tedium of summer reruns here at the Scandals Channel. Even the boring all-news cable channels look like us these days.

Everywhere viewers click, breathless cable news anchors are bouncing from coast to coast, racing to keep up with the latest lowlights of politicians caught in scandals. Scandals involving politicians (much like those of ordinary people) come in two categories: sex and money. To keep you reading, today's in-depth report will focus on the former.

Upon closer examination, it turns out all the latest political scandals seem like reruns -- in fact, they seem like parodies of themselves. Indeed, it was not until we looked at the excuses the politicians give when caught that we came up with something original enough to be called news. (We'll get to it soon.)

First, all lenses were focusing live on an East Coast scandal:

A former congressman who is running for mayor of New York City has been caught in the act of treating his Dickens of a name as his ultimate credential. Anthony Weiner has been caught sending women X-rated Internet messages and photos of his moniker. There is, of course, a good reason this seems like a sick rerun of that 2011 scandal involving a congressman. (Which he first denied, then admitted as he quit Congress and promised he'd never do it again.) Yup, same guy. He explains he's got an addiction and is receiving counseling and is continuing his mayoral campaign.

The next minute, all lenses were focusing live on a West Coast scandal:

A former congressman who is already the mayor of San Diego has been accused of inappropriate behavior by a growing number of women. He is Mayor Bob Filner and the women are saying he touched, fondled and/or (sometimes juicily) kissed them. He explains he has entered into counseling, and he rejects calls for him to resign.



Unfortunately, this also sounds like stories we've heard before about many other politicians. We remember former Sen. Bob Packwood of Oregon, who accomplished some fine things in office, yet ultimately resigned in disgrace. In Washington, Filner also compiled an outstanding record as chairman of the House Veterans Affairs Committee. While researching a book, I found his committee was virtually alone in moribund Washington as it pressed a then-dysfunctional Department of Veterans Affairs to resolve its unconscionable backlog of military veterans seeking the benefits they'd earned fighting our battles.

In the annals of scandal reruns, this is sad, but sadly not atypical. But Filner's folly may have plowed some new ground.

In a letter to the city attorney, the mayor's lawyer, Harvey Berger, charged that the City of San Diego had "a legal obligation to provide sexual harassment training to all management level employees." But, he wrote: "The City failed (he put that in bold face) to provide such training to Mayor Filner."

The Filner blame-deflection ploy, while as old as chutzpah itself, seems so new that not even Anthony Wiener has used it (yet). But wait: Our investigative digging has uncovered a precedent. Legal scholars can find it not by consulting their Blackwood legal bibles, but by plowing through "Seinfeld" reruns.

It is from the episode in which Jerry Seinfeld's pal, George Costanza, landed a great desk job with Pendant Publishing -- until he opted to do some late-night deskwork. Costanza was confronted about it the next morning by his new boss.

BOSS: It's come to my attention that you and the cleaning woman have engaged in sexual intercourse on the desk in your office. Is that correct?

COSTANZA (angrily, in denial mode): Who said that?

BOSS: She did.

COSTANZA: Was that wrong? Should I not have done that? I tell you, I gotta plead ignorance on this thing. Because if anyone had said anything to me at all when I first started here -- that that sort of thing is frowned upon, you know... 'Cause I've worked in a lot of offices, and I tell you, people do that all the time.

BOSS: You're fired!

This week, at both ends of the North American continent, Weiner and Filner are in counseling and vowing to stay the course. But in the end, the people will probably tell both men, "You're fired!"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


07/03/13: NSA reforms will come, securing liberty and homeland

07/03/13: As student loan rates double, Congress fails to act

06/05/13: Scandal chatter drowns out best and worst news

05/29/13: Obama vs. Obama

03/13/13: VA's growing backlog needs attention now

03/06/13: When a presidency and press corps collide

02/27/13: Washington unintentionally but predictably triggering a coast-to-coast tsunami, freezing job hiring

02/21/13: Cold War vestiges still afflict 2 nuclear cities

01/16/13: Turnabout sucks

01/09/13: Education must be America's new national security priority

11/29/12: Building a budgetary bridge to somewhere

11/24/12: Voters share blame for negative campaigns

10/24/12: Romney displays unusual strategy for winning

10/17/12: Russia drops a bombshell on U.S. nuclear safeguard plan and few notice

10/11/12: A new debate game plan for a new comeback

07/25/12: Washington news, sanitized for officials' comfort

07/18/12: By withholding, Mitt Romney taxes campaign

06/20/12: Cruel consequences spring from an old leak

06/13/12: Gaffes, not facts, dominate presidential race

06/06/12: Command decisions mark new era of video-game warfare

04/25/12: Safeguarding us all in the nuclear age

04/18/12: The battle for the honor of enraging us more

03/28/12: Eavesdropping on diplomacy and politics

02/22/12: Drawing Romney's big picture

01/25/12: Candidates proving that time-tested Marxist theory

01/12/12: Even with primaries still to go, history's longest year starts now

01/05/12: Iowa caucuses reveal news media lapses

12/14/11: How Gingrich stole Mitt's Christmas

11/16/11: Supercommittee's super-sized surrender

11/16/11: Romney talks Texas-tough on Iran

11/03/11: The Silent Majority speaks at last

10/20/11: Outsourcing our democracy; hijacking our holidays

10/13/11: Decline and fall of presidential press conferences

09/28/11: Washington's Monument to broken government

08/17/11: Tax credits for job creation

07/06/11: Obama's on-the-job retraining from Clinton

06/29/11: Obama, Nixon suddenly joined in posterity



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast