Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Ask Mr. Know-It-All

By Gary Lee Clothier




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | UPDATE: In a previous column, I discussed Hooverisms, negative nicknames given to certain items used during the Great Depression. For instance, newspapers were called "Hoover blankets" because they were often used as blankets. "Hoover flags" were empty pockets turned inside out, and a "Hooverville" was a shantytown.

I asked readers if they knew of any more; here are a few. "Hoover hogs" were armadillos in the South and Southwest and squirrels, rabbits and other small critters in Appalachia. One reader told me her husband grew up in Arkansas, where they called turnips "Hoover apples." "To this day, he will not eat a turnip." "Hoover carts" were two-wheeled carts made using the rear wheels and axles from automobiles that people could no longer afford to operate. The carts were pulled by mules, horses or other animals.

Q: I am a fan of "The Godfather" movies. What happened to Robert Duvall? He was excellent in the role of Tom Hagen, but he did not return for the final movie. -- M.B., Covina, Calif.

A: Robert Duvall wanted $5 million to reprise his role of Tom Hagen in "The Godfather: Part III." The guys with the purse said "no," and Duvall was replaced by George Hamilton as lawyer B.J. Harrison. A line of dialogue was inserted that explained that Hagen had died years before.

Q: There is a word for next to last. As I recall, it could be a person or thing. I have asked all my friends, and they are clueless, too. Please help. -- B.L., Benton, Ark.

A: Look up the word "penultimate."

Q: I have a collection of pennies that have been flattened and embossed with a historic landmark or some other site of interest. I have several questions about these tokens. When were these pennies first introduced? Is it legal to destroy a coin? What is the techy name for collecting these tokens? -- S.E.B., Muscatine, Iowa

A: It is generally accepted that these tokens were first made during the 1892 World's Columbian Exposition held in Chicago to commemorate the 400th anniversary of Columbus' discovery of America. The correct name for these coins is elongated coins, although since I was a kid I have always called them squished pennies.

As for the legality of such coins, I'm quoting from PennyCollector.com: "The United States Codes under Title 18, Chapter 17 and Section 331, 'prohibits the mutilation, diminution and falsification of United States coinage.' However, it has been the opinion of some individual officers at the Treasury Department, though without any indication of approval, the foregoing statute does not prohibit the mutilation of coins if done without fraudulent intent or if the mutilated coins are not used fraudulently." So, yes, it is legal. It is also legal in the U.K., but not in Canada.

As far as I can tell, there is not a special name for an elongated-coin collector.

For more information, visit PennyCollector.com

Q: I was young when the Unabomber was caught. I have often wondered what his name meant. -- W.K.N., Bangor, Maine

A: The FBI gave Ted Kaczynski the name because his early mail bombs were sent to universities (UN) and airlines (A). Kaczynski sent 16 bombs from 1978 to 1995; his bombs killed three people and injured 23.

Q: I have wondered for years why the open ocean is called "the bounding main." -- M.L.E., Trappe, Md.

A: In 1880, a children's song about sailing on the ocean was written called "Sailing, Sailing." (It's also known by the first line, "Sailing, sailing, over the bounding main.") The song was written by Godfrey Marks, a pseudonym for British organist and composer James Frederick Swift (1847-1931). This is the earliest reference I can find that calls the ocean "the bounding main." If any reader has additional information, please let me know.

=<<


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


#45
#44
#43
#42
#41
#40
#39
#38
#37
#36
#35
#34
#33
#32
#31
#30
#29
#28
#27
#26
#25
#24
#23
#22
#21
#20
#19
#18
#17
#16
#15
#14
#13
#12
#11
#10
#9
#8
#7
#6
#5
#4
#3
#2
#1


© 2011, Gary Clothier DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles