Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Our Debt Problems: Politicians Extend and Pretend

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Giving money and power to government is like giving whiskey and car keys to a teenage boy."
            — P.J. O'Rourke


Congress and Obama had America on the edge of our seats this week (seats made — and soon to be repossessed — by the Chinese) when they bumbled the debt ceiling issues. Our finances are more messed up than Mike Tyson's checkbook, but our leaders seem to think they have served us well by just raising our debt limit. Heroic move.

Thinking they solved the problem by extending the debt limit and the supposed cuts past the 2012 elections, Washington patted itself on the back. Just raising the debt limit would be like saying you have cured the DUI problem by raising the illegal blood alcohol level from .08 to 1.2. Problem solved, right?

For weeks leading up to whatever "deal" they cut, Obama and various Republicans worked the press conferences with the bravado of professional wrestlers before a match. Obama warned Eric Cantor (R-VA) "not to call his bluff" on tax hikes. He then backed off his own tax hikes. Then the Re-pugs backed off from entitlement cuts. Perhaps we have elected the worst poker players of all time. Fundamental to bluffing someone is not to tell him up front that you are bluffing.

As they always seem to do on important matters, at the last minute Congress jammed through a bill that no one read but supporters felt compelled to sign in order to stave off yet another pending, Congress-made disaster. They did it with TARP, bailouts, stimulus (a.k.a. "porkulus"), ObamaCare, and now the debt ceiling and fake cuts scheduled to take place in 2013.

Obama says he will not stand by and let our government default on its debt obligation. Thank you again, Obama, for standing firm against something that no one even suggested. He is the best at creating a fake crisis and then saving us from it. Obama "saved or created" jobs with our money, he prevented mass murder by bombing Libya, and any problems the country has, he inherited.

Now Obama has "saved" us from being downgraded and becoming a banana republic. On the bright side, if we do become a Third World country, Hollywood starlets might start adopting babies from here and then maybe we can outsource our jobs to ourselves.

Obama then appears on his personal PR organ, CBS' 60 Minutes, to scare seniors and essentially say he cannot ensure that Social Security checks will go out unless Congress votes his way. He is the only person who can ensure that there is plenty of money in taxes coming in to pay our debt and Social Security obligations. But the funny part is that 75 million Americans, otherwise known as Obama's core constituency, get entitlement checks each month - and he implies that they may not receive them.

As we know, math is not the strong suit of America's Democratic voters. Something like 5 of 4 of them do not even understand fractions. Anything you say will pacify them, and as long as they can take money from others they seem blissfully happy. Taking money from the moochers out there is like trying to put ChapStick on a grizzly bear.

On the other hand, the Tea Party has made the Republicans vote as less of a monolithic group of lemmings like the Democrats. Republicans used to be able to go to Washington and get their pork and meals paid for by just not being quite as bad as Democrats. It was a shirts and skins game there; they would just work out a deal and spend more of our money without incident. The Tea Party has been a game changer, and John Boehner now has some cats to herd.

If Moody's downgraded the USA from a AAA rating, Obama's economic team would immediately retaliate by cutting off stimulus funding to the auto club. They are just that smart about business, given their vast experience in the real world.

We have to support those politicians who actually cut spending. Washington has gone from spending $2.2 trillion in 2002 to $3.8 trillion now, with tax revenue being about $2.2 trillion. There is no stopping this madness unless we cut off funding with a balanced budget amendment.

The inmates are running the asylum.

=<<


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

No Child Left --- To the Left

Dems' debt ceiling demagoguery

Golf Summit --- I Like Spike(s)

Nancy Pelosi Finally Demands a Weiner Probe

The porkulus political payback project

Schwarzenegger, please!

An ILL Wind for Business --- Boeing, Boeing Gone?

Osama's 72 Virgins --- and Obama's 72 Versions

Bin Laden was taken out by seals and now sleeps with the fishes

Trump: Got 99 problems, but rich ain't one

Why you should see the ‘Atlas Shrugged’ movie

Why The Donald trumps the Bamster

O-Bomb-A

Mid-East Megalomaniacal Despots on the Run

Truther or Dare

Facebook ‘Un-friends’ Our Increasingly Regulation-burdened Capital Markets

Egyptians Unfriend Mubarak

Hold 'em liable --- the colleges, that is

Follow your Hart in a look back at 2010

GOP wins in showdown

WikiLeaks --- Danger or Disinfectant?

The Angle of the Rangel

Where We Let Terrorists Really Hurt Us

Time to starve the spending beast

The TSA: We Do Chicken Right!

A Red Wave

No Juan Left Behind at NPR

Capitalism in Time Saves Mine

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles