Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 11, 2011 / 11 Menachem-Av, 5771

It takes a whole village of shoes to raise a child

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When all the shower gifts were opened and the guests had gone home, I collapsed on a sofa with the guest of honor to eat one last cupcake and rub her feet.

Five weeks from the due date for the birth of her first child, my daughter -- who once, as a teenager, would've gone off like a car alarm had I dared to touch her feet -- didn't seem to mind.

Becoming a mother tends to change all sorts of things.

Despite the years in which I wasn't allowed to touch them, I know her feet pretty well.

I remember how they looked the day she was born. Most mothers probably think their babies are exceptional, but let me assure you, she was.

I wish you could've seen her.

Weighing almost 10 pounds, she had thick black curls, dark red skin and wide cheekbones.

The doctor said she looked like a red ripe apple.

Her dad said she looked like my mother.

I said she looked like my girl. That is what she was, my girl, a referee for her brothers.

Her feet seemed too small for her body. I could fit all 10 of her toes in my mouth at once.

Her first shoes were tiny pink satin slippers that ended up disappearing in the wash.

Then she graduated to thick-soled leather "walkers." She was wearing them when she was 2, the day I found her on top of the kitchen stove playing with the knobs. I have no idea how she got up there. I just recall that the burners were red-hot and the soles of her shoes were smoking. I snatched her to safety and took 10 years off my life.

In no time, it seemed, she was playing "dress-up," clomping about the house in my heels.

Her kindergarten shoes were pink tennies. For Sunday school or birthday parties, she wore black patent-leather Mary Janes.

I still recall her first baseball cleats, and all the countless other shoes she laced up over the years for roller-skating and basketball and field hockey and cheerleading.

I remember trying my best not to laugh or cry, watching the transformation as she pulled on her first pair of high heels (to match her first prom dress) and tottered across the floor like a newborn colt, then turned to walk back with the poise of a thoroughbred.

By the time she graduated from college, she could squeeze her toes into 9-inch stilettos and run circles around me.

When she started teaching, I tried with limited success to get her to wear "sensible" shoes to stand on her feet all day riding herd on a bunch of 8-year-olds.

And for her wedding (on a hill by the ocean) I convinced her to wear white satin sandals with wide heels that wouldn't mire up in the mud. Afterward, she even thanked me.

Lately, I've been wishing I could tell her what kind of shoes she will need for being a mom. But raising a child is not a one-shoe-fits-all kind of calling. It takes a whole village of shoes.

Running shoes for speed, cleats for traction, hip-waders for navigating muddy waters.

Fuzzy slippers for walking the floor with a newborn or waiting up for a teenager to get home.

Sandals for the park, flip-flops for the beach, boots to referee snowball fights and a sturdy, comfortable pair of flats for carpooling or parent-teacher conferencing or climbing the bleachers to get a better seat.

Heels are nice for baptisms, graduations, weddings and such, but flats work fine for those occasions, too.

Shoes don't matter, really. It's feet that count. My daughter's feet are strong and true. They know when to lead and when to follow, when to tread softly and when to stand their ground.

She's going to be a great mom. And Lord willing, if she needs me, I'll be there to rub her feet.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


The best stories always tell us who we are

Stop, look back . . . and listen

The great outdoors, if one's lucky, a rock-solid companion

An iChat with my grandson

Lightening bugs and other things make us glow

Each and every Fourth of July a cause for celebration



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles