Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 4, 2011 / 4 Menachem-Av, 5771

The best stories always tell us who we are

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If you are anything like me -- no, I don't mean chatty and lazy -- you've got to love a good story.

Who doesn't?

In the mountains where I was born, storytellers were once called "liars." Not because their stories weren't true. On the contrary. If the tales they told were more fabricated than factual, they were always true of the human condition, intended not to convey facts, but to entertain, enlighten and inspire.

I was born into a family of "liars." My grandparents and parents, my blind baby brother, my aunts and uncles and dozens of cousins, the dogs that slept under the porch, even the fleas that slept on the dogs -- they all told stories.

All I had to do was to listen. And as I listened, I learned that every good story, like every good life, has a beginning, a middle and an end. But the best stories always tell us who we are.

I grew up steeped in all sorts of stories. Some I heard on my grandparents' porch. Others flapped around in my head like the shadows that fly after birds.

In school, my teachers said I was a writer. They also said I was chatty and lazy, but I liked "writer" best. I had no idea what it meant. I still don't. But I have spent most of my life telling stories (as a writer) and hearing them told by family and friends and strangers in passing.

Everybody has a story. Just give them a chance to tell it, then listen closely to what they say and what they don't.

You would not believe some of the stories I hear. I don't always believe them myself. But I keep them, collect them the way some people collect stamps, even if I can't always remember them.

The best thing about telling stories, and the highest praise you can hope to get, is when someone wants to tell you their story in return. Often as not, it will top the one you told.

Once, for example, I wrote in a column about how I got wedged under the hatch of an SUV (trying to get a 12-pack of Diet Coke out of the back) and had to crawl over the seat to get out.

Not much action, very little plot, but it struck a chord with readers who wrote by the hundreds to tell me stories that would put mine to shame.

The best two, as I recall, were these: A woman who fell half naked behind her dryer (never mind how) and remained stuck for hours, said she wasn't sure which she feared more: Dying or being rescued. She finally escaped by rocking her body back and forth to wiggle the dryer away from the wall.

And a man in a rush to return a rented video by midnight dropped the movie in the box and returned to his pickup to find that his dog had pawed the door and locked him out.

"There I was," he said, "no shirt, no shoes, no brains."

After several failed attempts to get the dog to unpaw the lock, he walked barefoot to a convenience store -- knowing full well he would never hear the end of it -- and begged a smirking clerk to let him use the phone to call his wife.

You cannot make that stuff up.

Recently I read about a man in South Carolina who robbed a convenience store and got away on a riding lawn mower.

I forwarded that story to some of my family in South Carolina.

The best response came from my niece, who wrote: "I used to work at a little country store, had a customer, his name was (never mind). He'd ride his moped up to the store with a towel on his head with duct tape wrapped around it. He said he had washed his hair and didn't want the wind to blow it."

I'm not sure what those stories tell us about who we are, except maybe that we are human.

Stories are the "yarns" in the fabric of our lives. They weave us together in one fine cloth, generation to generation, for as long as we keep telling and listening and asking for more.

Go ahead. Tell me a story. I can't wait to hear it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


Stop, look back . . . and listen

The great outdoors, if one's lucky, a rock-solid companion

An iChat with my grandson

Lightening bugs and other things make us glow

Each and every Fourth of July a cause for celebration



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles