Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 6, 2010 26 Menachem-Av, 5770

Afghanistan Shows Limits of American Power

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | She walked hesitantly into the green room at MSNBC, peering about as if perhaps she had come to the wrong place.

I reached out my hand to introduce myself, and after what seemed like a fraction of a second's hesitation, she reached out her hand, too. She spoke excellent English, though with a noticeable accent.

I asked her if she was here for "Hardball," and she responded in a quiet, tremulous voice that she was. She explained that she was not used to going on television.

She told me she had come from Afghanistan to talk about women's rights and America's role in securing them there. I could tell that she was not normally shy and I could imagine her in some dusty classroom in Afghanistan arguing with village elders about how women needed education, too.

Don't worry about the TV stuff, I told her. Don't worry about the cameras and cables and lights and the thing they stick in your ear. (She looked a little startled at that last one.) Just look at Chris Matthews and have a conversation with him, and if you blank out on something, he will get you through it.

A woman came in and told her it was time to get made up. She look startled again, but followed her to the make-up room.

When she came out and it was time for her to go onto the set, I caught her eye and told her not to worry. (I didn't tell her to "break a leg" because I had a feeling that might not mean the same thing in her country.") You'll do great, I told her.

She gave me a wan, uncertain smile.

I watched her on air from the TV in the green room and she was terrific: calm, forthright, emotional when she needed to be, lucid and persuasive. I forget the details of her story, but the general drift was that she was able to get an education in Afghanistan and now she wanted other women — all women — to have the same opportunity. And only the Americans who were there fighting could bring that about.

As she came out of the studio, and I passed her to go in, I told her that she had done a swell job.

"I hope so," she said with the utmost seriousness. "I truly hope so."

I hoped so, too. For a while. Until I realized what that might mean. With more than 1,200 American military deaths and nearly $300 billion spent, with the Taliban and al-Qaida to fight, to say nothing of the treachery of Pakistani intelligence and the corruption of the Hamid Karzai government, were we really going to stay and fight to make Afghanistan a functioning democracy?

Given that fewer and fewer Americans have any appetite for this war, given that we don't seem to be winning it and that we have a timetable to start removing most of our fighting forces by mid-2011, who wants to stay to fight and die to make sure Afghan women get the equal rights they deserve?

When I interviewed President Obama in the Oval Office on June 11, I asked him about this. I have edited his reply for space:

Q: "Are we winning the war in Afghanistan? And if we have achieved our military goals at one point, but still have not achieved our social goals — let's say equal rights for women — would we continue — would we pull out anyway?"

President Obama: "I think that we've seen progress as a consequence of just having more troops in the region. But ultimately, we can't maintain an indefinite occupation of a sovereign nation, and the Afghans don't want us to maintain that kind of presence.

"We want to be effective partners with them over the long term … not for us, but for the benefit of Afghan boys and girls who need a stable, secure, fair, just society in which to grow and to thrive.

"We are incredibly grateful to the best [U.S.] military in the history of the world. And the young men and women who are involved in it are remarkable. But we can't put the entire burden on them to solve every problem around the world."

President Obama's words reminded me of the words of John F. Kennedy. At a speech he delivered at the University of Washington on Nov. 16, 1961, a little less than three months after East Germany had erected a concrete wall dividing East and West Berlin and about three weeks after the Soviet Union had detonated a 50-megaton H-bomb, Kennedy said that "we must face the fact that the United States is neither omnipotent or omniscient … that we cannot right every wrong or reverse each adversity, and that therefore there cannot be an American solution to every world problem."

Kennedy was right, and Obama is right. We would all like to make the whole world free and wonderful, one in which all boys and girls grow up in stable, secure, fair and just societies, where they get the education they need and the rights they deserve.

Unfortunately, however, it is beyond the power of even a nation as great as ours to make sure that this happens in all places and at all times.

I don't know if I will ever see that young woman from Afghanistan again. I sort of hope not. Because I don't know how I would explain this to her.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate