Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 4, 2010 / 24 Menachem-Av 5770

Eugene J. Morris 1910-2010

By Dick Morris And Eileen McGann




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Gene Morris was a force of nature. Strong, dynamic, energetic and industrious, but also tender, loving, loyal, mentoring and creative. He died on Saturday, July 24, 2010, but three months shy of his 100th birthday.

My father — I am an only child — was my inspiration and role model throughout my life. He first taught me about politics on our long walks to his office through Manhattan's Central Park.

He came from a political family. His uncle, Albert Cohn, served as a judge on New York state's top court and was a close associate of Ed Flynn, FDR's political advisor. Al's son and my father's first cousin was Roy Cohn, who went on to fame as chief counsel to the McCarthy Committee investigating communism in the 1950s. My father and Roy were close.

My mother, Terry Morris, was a well known magazine writer and a founder and past president of the American Society of Authors and Journalists. They were married until her death in 1993. At our dinner tables, the discussion was always lively and focused on the political issues of the day. As a result, I grew up into a life of politics.

My father's mentoring continued until his death. During my time in the Clinton White House, he would avidly follow my dealings with the president and his staff and constantly offer his usual stream of good advice.

But it was after my service there, when my life was engulfed by scandal, that he was my most cherished support and guide. "You'll be back on top in no time," he said, constantly encouraging me and offering affirmation at the worst time of my life. Indeed, when I did my first media interviews after the scandal, he accompanied me to each one, offering his support and love.

A liberal Democrat, he never agreed with my move to the Republican Party, but he also did not let his political outlook interfere with his support for me. He watched all my TV shows and rooted for me openly.

The essence of my father's life was adaptability. No matter what life threw at him, he adapted. Nowhere was this more evident than when, on the death of my mother after 59 years of a loving marriage, he picked himself up and married his old high school and college prom date, Blanche Funke, with whom he lived for 14 more loving years!

Gene had a very long and distinguished career. A lifelong New Yorker, he labored under the handicap of a disrupted family life in his youth. His father, William DeVeze, deserted the family when my dad was only 3, leaving his mother and my father's sister alone.

Gene's mother, Regina Cohn, moved in with her mother, Nettie Cohn, and worked for her keep as the family's maid and housekeeper. Gene lived there from the age of 3 to 8 in a converted storage room. It was there that he first began to bond with his uncle Al Cohn, who was about 15 years his senior and lived in the same household.

When Gene turned 8, his mother married a ne'er do well named Max Morris, who was perpetually unemployed and verbally abusive. My father hated Max cordially. Regina set up a millinery shop in Harlem — where they lived — to support the family, and Gene took jobs from the age of 11 on.

He entered City College, the only free school available, in 1928, graduating in 1931. He taught art for a while but decided to become an attorney, graduating St. John's Law School (also in New York City) in 1934.

He rose rapidly in the legal community, but his blossoming career came to a pause in 1943 when he enlisted, at age 33, in the Army as a private during World War II.

On his discharge, as master-sergeant, in 1945, he formed the law firm of Demov and Morris. There, he took a two-man law firm and built it into the top real estate firm in New York City. He pioneered the concept of urban renewal, dotting the New York landscape with middle-income housing projects and handling the legal work for Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts. His clients included a who's who of real estate — Donald Trump and his father Fred, Sam Lefrak, Bob Tishman, Bernard Spitzer (father of former New York Gov. Eliot) and a host of others.

He authored a weekly column in the New York Law Journal on real estate law that covered the latest statutes and court decisions. He was articles editor of the American Bar Association's magazine Property and Probate. He chaired the New York Bar Association Real Property Law Committee for years.

Again, he showed his amazing adaptability when his law firm — to which he had given his life — dissolved in 1988, a product of overly rapid growth. He went to work, at age 78, as general counsel for a title insurance company, began to write legal texts — ultimately authoring 27 volumes — and started to teach law at NYU. He continued to teach until he retired at the tender age of 97.

I will miss him so.

Ours was a very current and alive relationship. Even when colon surgery forced him to curtail his activities, he read history and biographies voraciously, and we would discuss the volumes intently in our thrice-weekly visits. His mind never failed until the moment of his death.

=<<

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE BOOK

Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.



Dick Morris Archives


© 2009, Dick Morris

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles