Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 9, 2010 / 29 Menachem-Av 5770

Why We Go Back to Haiti

By Mitch Albom






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | PORT AU PRINCE, Haiti — Because they still need us.

Because we still can help.

Because the first time we came, their toilets were holes in the ground, their "kitchen" was a pot full of bugs, and their dorm rooms were destroyed.

Because the first time we came, the children "bathed" with a plastic bucket dumped over their heads.

Because the first time we came, they ate bowls of rice while sitting next to a coughing generator.

Because there was no electricity at night and no light when the flashlights died.

Because the earthquake that hit seven months ago and killed up to 230,000 is still being felt here, in the shaking of children too scared to go inside.

Because despite $1 billion in aid, there is still rubble in the streets, irregular power and water, and countless human beings sleeping in tents or under pieces of tin, their floors a muddy earth.

Because a tragedy doesn't go away when the TV cameras do.

Because we are Detroiters, and we know something about hard times, and this charity, A Hole in the Roof Foundation, was formed to fight them.

That is why we go back to Haiti.

EVERYONE WORKING TOGETHER
Because the first time we came, there were three of us, the second time nine of us, and this time 19 — plumbers, electricians, roofers, masons, carpenters, photographers, helping hands — all volunteers, all leaving behind their jobs and their families and their nice cool beds for filthy floor space and sweat-soaked nights.

Because when we arrive at the Caring and Sharing Mission, an orphanage founded by Detroiters, the children grab our hands and our legs.

Because there are maybe 70 kids here without parents or possessions, yet they smile and pray and say the unlikely words "thank you."

Because a smiling 6-year-old named Appollos offers you his rice whenever you pass.

Because an anxious 8-year-old named Kevin runs to fill your bucket of grout.

Because barefoot teenagers named Sadrac, Edward, Dona and Daniel sweep, paint, mop and push wheelbarrows, from the minute you start to the minute you finish, lest you think they are not willing to help themselves.

Because women begin cooking at noon, on a single burner, to try to cobble together some sort of dinner for us.

Because a putrid septic field can be cemented, walled and roofed over to create a boys bathroom with three toilets, two urinals and two sinks.

Because an empty corner of the mission can be walled, screened and plumbed to create a new kitchen.

Because an empty alley can be cleared, rebuilt and piped to provide three new showers — their first ever.

Because cracking, crumbling dorm rooms can be painted, carpentered and affixed with ceiling fans to create colorful, welcoming places to sleep.

Because after doing all this work for days without a break recently, the 19 volunteers — dubbed The Detroit Muscle Crew — form a circle in the darkness to discuss how to do more.

That is why we go back to Haiti.

THE LOVE OF THE KIDS
Because when the sun sets, the children, without fail, gather for devotional and sing the sweetest of hymns, sitting in each others' laps, the words memorized, joyous and grateful in ways rarely seen back home.

Because when a monsoon-like rainstorm hits, those kids drag us outside to play soccer in the splash.

Because someone brings an iPod and speakers, and when a funky song comes on, the kids dance wildly on a just-grouted kitchen floor, and you're too affected by their happiness to say a word.

Because gifts donated by Somerset Collection, and cookies donated by Grand Traverse Pie Company, and backpacks carried down on a plane donated by Roger Penske are placed into the grateful hands of kids with no place to even store them.

Because you lose track of time, cell phones and e-mails and fill your day watching one life affect another.

Because a sudden tap comes on your shoulder, and a young man named Sam hands you a wooden necklace as a good-bye present.

Because when you board the trucks the kids hug you and start crying until you find yourself making a promise.

Because I wear a ring and as I look at it now, I notice, for the first time, that dried concrete has encased it, covering who I am with who they are.

That is why we go back.

Because in the end, beneath the dirt, tears and tragedy, you find the heart of Haiti. And it finds yours.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2009, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles