Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Listen, play, appreciate music

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Over 70 percent of schools are not able to maintain funding for the arts.

Schools with music programs, compared to schools without, have significantly higher graduation rates, 90.2 percent compared to 72.9 percent, and higher attendance rates, 93.3 percent compared to 84.9 percent.

Students with coursework in music appreciation score roughly 53 points higher in verbal and 40 points higher in math on the SAT than their non-arts peers.

Early musical training increases brain development in language, reasoning, math, science, memory, creativity, expression, and spatial intelligence.

Choral singers are nearly twice as likely to be involved in charity work — as both volunteers and donors — than the average person.

Every human culture uses music to preserve and pass on its ideas and ideals.

Music is not limited by age, gender, ethnicity or time.

TAKE ACTION TODAY

1. Listen to your favorite music and sing, dance, clap, jam on your air guitar, and enjoy it like no one is watching.

2. Go see or buy tickets for a live music performance.

3. Sign up for music lessons for yourself or your family.

4. If you already sing or play an instrument, do it today or offer to teach someone who wants to learn.

5. Donate unused instruments to a local school, church, or music education center.

6. Communicate with your school-district administrators or national legislators. Write a letter of appreciation for the hard work they do and request continued funding for the arts.

Music is fun, expressive, imaginative, beautiful, energizing, relaxing, interesting, and freeing. Through music, we preserve our cultural heritage, celebrate our faith with praise and worship, remember events and experiences from the past, come together with friends and family, and express our emotions. Music is the soundtrack of life.

YOU MATTER
Music has changed. Radio plays the same songs over and over again. Kids are no longer learning or playing music in schools. Lyrics of the chart-topping songs are, well, not the most uplifting, thought-provoking, or redeeming. And, unfortunately, the world now has TMZ, so we get to see and hear about all of the mishaps and blunders of some of our most popular music stars.

No, I am not grumpy about it. And although it might be a function of getting older, I think it is more than that. I am just thirsty for beautiful melodies, inspiring lyrics, and songs that move my soul, not just my hips. I also believe the world is thirsting for it … and needs it too. And recently, I got take a drink of what I have been craving. And it tasted great.

On a recent night, I was invited to the Chris Daughtry show in Hollywood. Most of the world knows Chris Daughtry. He placed 4th in "American Idol" in what many feel was a controversial decision. He's a rocker and his new album entitled "Leave This Town" was just released on two weeks ago and is topping the charts everywhere. And last night he was fantastic — amazing voice, great entertainer, and his audience loves him. I mean, really loves him. And although I really enjoyed him as well, it was the opening act that really moved me. Not because he was "better than Daughtry" (as that is not my intention), but it just spoke to me. As it also did to the hundreds of people I heard asking "Who is this guy? He is really good."

His name is David Hodges. And thanks to the Internet, I can offer a bit of his resume. David was one of the original members of the hit band "Evanescence." Upon leaving Evanescence, he has spent the past few years as a song-writer, writing songs for Chris Daughtry, David Archuleta, and Kelly Clarkson … just to name a few. In other words, he has had a pretty amazing music career for a kid from Arkansas, still in his 20's. But now it appears that he is taking his piano back on stage and is ready to "piano rock" the world.

In a word, I would say that his performance was "moving." The combination of his sweeping melodies and down-to-earth lyrics, coupled with his humble gestures between songs and the locked-up backing vocals of Steven McMorran, all took me away to a "this is why I love music so much" place. Before I knew it, I had spent an hour thinking: What is my life all about? Why am I here? How do I treat people? What do I believe in? Do I love enough? And, although this might sound heavy, I didn't experience it that way. Rather, I had a smile on my face the whole time, and I walked away uplifted with a "life is awesome" feeling inside. Deep inside.

I spent some time on David's Web site this morning and found a quote from him that pretty much summed up my experience last night. "I am drawn to art that doesn't downplay the everyday hardship of life. Only in really seeing that brokenness for what it is can we have a realistic sense of hope. There are real signs of truth and beauty in the midst of all the mess and madness, and I think that is what my songs speak to."

What a refreshing thing to hear from one of our up-and-coming music stars. There are signs of truth and beauty out there. We see them everyday … if we choose to. And, we matter in making sure there are more and more signs of them. Thank you David for making me believe in music and for doing what you do. You touch people's hearts, and I hope that your new album will be topping the charts in very short order. Music matters. Your music matters.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Create a back-to-school backpack
Your day
Thank a local law enforcement officer
Get involved with foster kids
Be neighborly
Donate blood and bone marrow
Protect yourself with Internet safety
Eat healthy
Learn CPR, the ‘ABCs of life’
Respect the disabled
Turn off your TV
Go exercise
Write a letter to a soldier
Thank a firefighter
Have fun with an elderly person
Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles