Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 7, 2009 / 17 Menachem-Av 5769

Frying squads aim at hot dogs — and you

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's been a bad week for backyard cookouts and anyone who enjoys food in general. First the food police put a bounty on hot dogs.


Food vigilantes and their frying squads have targeted more than 100 foods with their scientific studies and attacks. They won't relent until we're all slurping seaweed and snacking on wheat berries.


If having hot dogs and brats disrespected at the peak of summer wasn't bad enough, the Senate Finance Committee announced they were considering taxing soda. Like a three-cent tax per can is going to fund health care and create a stampede for broccoli flowerets.


The crusaders are gunning for curvy people — the ample, the plump, the generous, the Rubenesque and the outright obese.


Now that the pool of smokers has shrunk, they need a new target. It is essential that the movers and shakers always have someone else to move and shake.


The only thing more annoying than a crazed anti-smoking crusader is a smug thin person.


As a nation, we are, well, round. We know we're round. Every time we turn around - and give me a little space could you? — a headline tells us we're round. And a headline beside that offers a recipe for rocky road double fudge brownies.


If the Feds want to control what the rest of us eat, they may want to clean out their own'fridge first. The new Surgeon General isn't exactly willowy and Barney Frank would be the first to admit that's not an all-wheel drive Goodyear tire wrapped around his middle.


It used to be it was a mother's job to tell you what to eat, not a senator's job. It's only a matter of time before the president appoints a Calorie Czar. Paging Jenny Craig.


Feeding people isn't new to the Feds. They've been menu planning for our children for some time. A teacher friend found it ironic that students who get breakfast at school had a donut in one hand and were touching their toes with the other as part of the school's fitness program.


Eat. Exercise. Eat. Exercise. Bend there, done that.


We're not the only ones whose government is nosing in on our eating habits. The Brits conducted a trial door-to-door campaign in January in which officials called on households asking residents what they were cooking, talked about portion size, dispensed dietary advice and offered tips on what to do with leftovers.


Our roundness, like every other social problem, is best addressed at a smaller and more intimate level like, say, the family. Or the community.Once upon a time we solved problems ourselves without facing the Potomac and bowing to Washington.


It is an individual and family choice to make the time to cook at home, to make sweets, junk and eating out the occasional treat and not a staple. It is a personal choice to get off your duff and get outside, to bike, hike, shoot hoops, walk not drive, take the stairs and generally get the lead out.


You can't coerce someone into losing weight - although that female trainer on the "Biggest Loser" sure comes close. You can't tax someone into losing weight. The decisions on what to eat, when, where and if to exercise, are personal. At least they used to be. When government gets their nose in your cupboard, the scales are out of whack.


We may be pudgy, but we're not stupid.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Catching Christmas" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2009, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles