Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 12, 2008 / 11 Menachem-Av 5768

What's On Our Minds

By Jackie Mason & Raoul Felder


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Believe it or not, we read and think a great deal of the New York Times columnist Bob Herbert. He is clever, smart, and a good writer. But recently we think he has made a big mistake (besides writing for the New York Times). McCain recently ran a TV ad that we believe was devastating, linking Obama with Paris Hilton. His point was obvious: just because somebody is a celebrity, you would not vote for them to have their finger on the atom bomb. Bob Herbert interpreted the commercial as being "highly sexualized" and designed to feed stereotypes about what black men really want, i.e. white women — or, at least some similar nonsense.


Mr. Herbert misses the point. The point was that both Paris Hilton and Barack Obama are famous for being famous. Indeed, Mr. Obama is the Paris Hilton of politics. Neither one of them had basically accomplished much after they obtained a certain pinnacle — Paris Hilton doing her nightclubbing (arguably, her imprisonment), and Barack Obama being elected to the Senate. Yes, we know he was against the Iraq war, but so were our brother-in-laws, but neither Obama nor our brother-in-laws were Senators at the time and were not in a position to put their money (our brother-in-laws would have to borrow it from us) where their mouth was.


Mr. Herbert views the campaign apparently, as do many other people, sadly, as being one that turns on the linchpin of race. Ironically, the only candidate who seems to have brought race to the campaign was Mr. Obama. ("You know, [I don't] look like all those other presidents on the dollar bills.")


We do, however, believe we do live in a post-racial world — at least here in America. There is not a person this side of a lunatic asylum that hires or fires somebody because of their race or religion. We basically hire the person who can best do the job. Of course, many years ago race permeated hirings, firings, admissions to schools, etc. The biggest national bank would say in their want ads, "Jews need not apply," and if you were African American they would do you a favor if they took your money. Now, the last president of Citibank was a Jew, and the CEO of the largest entertainment company in the world (Time Warner) is an African American.


We believe the cogent point in Obama's nomination and his triumph is the nomination itself. When Michelle Triola sued Lee Marvin, the actor, for palimony, she was successful in having acquired that right. Everyone forgets that she basically received nothing through the courts, but what she did do was establish a principle, namely that palimony would be alive and well and living in America. Similarly, by Obama's being nominated, it meant that a particular glass ceiling had been breached. Now, he must rise and fall on his own abilities, achievements or lack of them. We do not believe that anyone would or would not vote for Obama (except for a few nitwit plantation owners in the South) because of his color and, indeed, our suspicion is that even these same people would vote in the blink of an eye for Colin Powell.


If racial prejudice is not dead in America, hopefully it's taking its last gasps, so let's not give it resuscitation.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributors Jackie Mason needs no introduction. Comment on this column by clicking here.

Up

Archives

© 2008, Jackie Mason & Raul Felder.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles