Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 19, 2008 / 18 Menachem-Av 5768

The potential of mutual destruction

By Ed Koch


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The best advice to President George W. Bush on how to conduct foreign affairs with Russia is still the comment of Teddy Roosevelt, "Speak softly and carry a big stick." Regrettably, the Washington, D.C. crowd, including the President and Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, are instead speaking harshly. They seem unaware that we no longer have a big stick in hand.


Our armed forces of nearly 200,000 are bogged down in Iraq and Afghanistan and we literally are without reserves that could fight a war with Russia, that must, in any event, be avoided at all costs.


In the meanwhile, we have to make a decision. Do we want to engage Russia as a full partner in our efforts to keep the peace or do we want to humble them as we have for a number of years when we were aided by their declining economy. Their economy is no longer in decline. Instead, it is now booming based on oil and natural gas wealth. Russia now supplies European countries as a whole with two-thirds of their energy needs. The Russians have chafed for years as a result of the U.S. including the Baltic states and Poland in NATO and proposing NATO membership for Georgia and the Ukraine. The Russians have made clear that they see the installation by the U.S. of radar in nations on Russia's borders to guide antiballistic missiles to their targets as a threat to Russia's missile system, notwithstanding the U.S. assurance that our ABM installations are intended to deal only with rogue nations such as Iran. The Russians recall how determined we were - successfully - to keep Soviet ballistic missiles out of Cuba. That crisis in 1962 was resolved with the removal of the Soviet missiles from Cuba in exchange for a commitment - which we carried out - to remove American missiles from Turkey, Russia's neighbor. Clearly, they are as distressed as we would be if Russia were to include Venezuela and Bolivia in a military alliance.


What we are doing in lieu of speaking softly is having Condoleezza Rice denounce Russia, comparing it with the former Soviet Union when it invaded Czechoslovakia to put down the "Prague Spring" in 1968. It is important to remember that it is almost universally agreed that it was Georgia that commenced the current hostilities. This after the Georgia President Saakashvili was, according to the Times, "warned" by "Assistant Secretary of State Daniel Fried against escalating the conflict." Having ignored the advice, Saakashvili launched an attack on the Russian forces ending with Russian forces overwhelming the Georgian army which retreated to southern Georgia. The Russian forces in hot pursuit were asked by France's President Sarkozy to end the hostilities. They agreed, but demanded and got the right to engage in military activities under certain circumstances, which by most accounts they have abused. Georgia started the hostilities, but we know that Russia was waiting for the opportunity to smash Georgia's military forces to serve as a lesson to states that were part of the Soviet empire and now want to join the West and NATO.


President Bush is compounding all the errors made to date by delivering humanitarian aid to Georgia with U.S. military personnel and with counterproductive rhetoric. An example of such rhetoric is the Pentagon's statement in The Times on August 14th: "On a day the White House evoked emotional memories of the cold war, a senior Pentagon official said the relief effort was intended to show to Russia that we can come to the aid of a European ally, and that we can do it at will, whenever and wherever we want." Surely we want to avoid at this time a physical conflict with Russia that could occur by accident or design.


In my view, these are the steps that we need to take: First, President Bush should meet with the leaders of Congress, and Senators Obama and McCain, to map out an agreed bi-partisan approach. Whatever actions are required legislatively and executively to upgrade and enlarge our Armed Forces to deal with the situation should be taken and we should make sure that all of our American leaders in public office agree to speak with one voice and that is the voice of the president who under the Constitution conducts the foreign policy of this country, presuming there is an agreed upon policy.


The NATO nations in Europe who deserted us when we needed their military support in both Iraq and Afghanistan are now cowering in fear that the Russian bear is back with a ravenous appetite. Relying on our defense umbrella, they will now rush to join us and swear unwavering support, which, sadly, we can never fully rely on again.


Second, an immediate meeting should be arranged between Bush and Putin to afford us an opportunity to convince Russia that we are not their enemy. Our goal should be that we do for Russia what we would have them do for us were the situations reversed. Threats by both sides, physical and verbal, should immediately end.


In sum, the renewed hostility between Russia and the U.S. over Georgia has the potential of leading to mutual destruction. This is in no one's interest. The hostile rhetoric must be ratcheted down immediately, and we need to explore ways to work with the Russians in order to enhance global security, rather than undermine it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2008, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles