Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 15, 2008 / 14 Menachem-Av 5768

Sensitive souls say, ‘Honk if you want trouble’

By Lori Borgman

Lori Borgman
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Today's question: Is there such a thing as a friendly honk?


The youngest — and best — driver in the family, if you can overlook the fact that she refuses to stop on long road trips — and I were at a red light. The driver in front of us was looking at himself in his mirror, fixing his hair, when the light turned green.


We waited, three, four seconds, and then agreed we should give a little honk. My driver ever so lightly tapped the horn: "-beep-"


That was it. It was such a friendly little "Herbie the Love Bug" toot that I'm pretty sure the headlights batted their eyelashes and the front grillwork turned up in a big smile.


The driver pulled back from the mirror, repositioned himself before the wheel and pulled through the intersection. Then he abruptly slowed down in a fashion that made us think he had no affection whatsoever for Herbie the Love Bug.


So we slowed way down, like maybe we'd turn on another street, pull over and change the oil, or rip out the transmission.


We pulled up to the stoplight, where our new friend was waiting two lanes over. His taillights were glaring and his rear tires were spinning gravel even though we were on pavement.


"Were you honking at ME?" he shouted.


I smiled and, in what I thought to be a disarming voice, answered, "Yes, the light turned green and we didn't think you saw it because you were messing with your hair." I thought maybe this would diffuse the situation and possibly even prevent him from having an imminent heart attack.


He sputtered, turned red and cut loose. (LANGUAGE ADVISORY) He screamed, "TAKE A FLYING LEAP!" Parents, you should be so lucky your kids talk like this. It was like having Frankie Avalon read you the riot act. I thought Doris Day and Rock Hudson might jump up from his backseat and start a pillow fight.


It was a nice way to be told off, but then we felt sorry that we had inadvertently irritated a fellow who was above being coarse, vulgar and uncouth.


In our post-encounter analysis, I said I believed that the one-tap friendly honk was universally understood. It is a versatile honk; much like the word aloha. It can mean, hello, goodbye, heads up, I'm here, I'm leaving or I see you in that big chicken suit flapping your arms.


Consensus was that the friendly honk is vastly different from the mad warning honk, which is a loud, long, angry blast that says, "stay in your own lane," "pay attention, cell phone diva" or "my brakes are out."


After consulting several etiquette sources, while they acknowledge the friendly honk, they advise against it. They seem particularly averse to using it to tell a girl you think she's cute or a guy that he is hot, or as a means of asking friends "what's happening?"


They were also emphatic about not honking the horn because you are too lazy to get out of your car and go to the door.


You may, however, use your horn in the parking garage after your baseball team has won, in a parade - AND — to alert another driver as to a driving error.


So there you have it. In addition to the friendly honk and the warning honk, we now have the driving error honk to add to our growing repertoire of honks.


You go first.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lori Borgman is the author of , most recently, "Pass the Faith, Please" (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) and I Was a Better Mother Before I Had Kids To comment, please click here. To visit her website click here.

ARCHIVES

© 2008, Lori Borgman

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles