Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 16, 2006 / 22 Menachem-Av, 5766

We know everything, Tom

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Happy birthday to you, Tom!"


"Who is this? How did you know it was my birthday?"


"Your birth date is public information — it's listed on your voter registration card. But that's not important. What is important is that I'm here to help you."


"Help me with what?"


"We feel it's time for you to upgrade your computer, Tom. It's taking you forever to surf through the Web sites you visit."


"You know which Web sites I visit?"


"Of course. America Online recently got into trouble for selling such information. We had a good laugh when we learned your favorite search terms are: "Madonna, bikini, before she turned 40."


"This, sir, is an outrage."


"We're just trying to help. Incidentally, that 27-year-old flight attendant you met in the online chat room?"


"What of her?"


"She's 64 and two of her sons are in jail."


"You have no right to —"


"Don't get excited, Tom. According to the free blood pressure clinic you visited — you remember filling out that card, don't you? — your blood pressure is awfully high." "You know my blood pressure?" "Of course. There are lots of ways to get that information now. Didn't you know that security cameras and other devices mounted in public places are now able to check vital signs?"


"My vital signs!"


"Absolutely. And some surveillance systems can identify you by how you walk. And special programs can track the eye movements of shoppers in stores, helping retailers to get a better idea of what you're looking for."


"You can't be serious."


"I'm as serious as a heart attack. Which is why you ought to cut back on the corn chips. Do you really need to eat four bags every week?"


"You track my corn chip purchases?"


"That discount card the grocery store gave you is quite revealing. Incidentally, you forgot to redeem your coupon on the free devil's food cake. I'll send another if you'd like."


"What you're doing is surely against the law!"


"Law? There are no laws to prevent us from knowing about you. Everything you buy with your credit or debit card is incredibly easy for us to track — and it's legal."


"It is?"


"Yes, and every time you fill out any form, your personal information is stored in computers and shared with G-d only knows who."


"Without my permission?"


"Of course. And did you know that your Social Security number has more than 40 congressionally approved uses? You can't drive, vote, apply for a job or open a bank account without revealing that number. That's a godsend to people like us."


"But this is immoral!"


"A typical statement from a 44-year-old, single, middle-class Catholic conservative who voted for Reagan, Bush and Bush."


"Have you no shame, sir?"


"I'm not the one who is 12 months overdue at the library on 'How to Win Over Women and Influence Courtship.'"


"I'll report you to the press."


"That's a good one, Tom. The press is eager to criticize the Bush administration for monitoring phone calls and wire transfers — with the hopes of stopping terrorists before they strike — when there are hundreds of other threats to privacy that the press hardly ever talks about."


"Then Congress must write new laws to protect us. "


"That's an even better one, Tom. In the electronic global village in which we all now exist, technology is moving so rapidly that no law can keep up with it. The only way you can protect your privacy is to stop giving out ID numbers, stop using computers and stop using your credit cards."


"I can't afford that kind of inconvenience."


"Neither can I, Tom. Which brings us back to the reason I called. I have some products to help you upgrade your computer."


"There are only two things I want from you: your name and phone number."


"Sorry, but I can't give you that information, Tom. That information is private."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2006, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles