Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 17, 2006 / 23 Menachem-Av, 5766

We won't win war on jihad — unless non-Islamics unite and play to win

By Ed Koch


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last week, while the U.N. Security Council was discussing, and ultimately adopting, its ceasefire resolution regarding the war in Lebanon, I was depressed. After four weeks of war between Israel and Hezbollah, Israel had not delivered a knockout blow and Hezbollah had acquitted itself well, something that no other Arab military force — whether Egyptian, Jordanian, Syrian, or Palestinian — has been able to do.


Israel had dazzled the world by its victories in the five previous wars waged against it by the Arabs. Now, forced by the murder and kidnapping of its soldiers into war with Hezbollah, a terrorist organization that has held Lebanon hostage, the Israeli Defense Forces appeared bogged down, seemingly unable to advance to the Litani River, the defense line that Israel had announced as its objective. They finally reached it immediately before the cease-fire went into effect on August 13th.


It now appears that the Israeli military was hindered by Prime Minister Olmert's decision to rely overwhelmingly on the Israeli air force and to commit a relatively small number of troops, about 10,000, to the ground battle, so as to limit casualties. This is the same error made by Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld when he ignored his military advisors and invaded Iraq with insufficient troops.


That error has proven costly.


The United States, in statements and actions by President Bush and Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, has been unstinting in its support of Israel. Our government correctly viewed the attack on Israel by Hezbollah as an aspect of worldwide terrorism directed at the Western countries, including the U.S. Every American who believes that the war against international terrorism, which the President refers to as the battle against Islamic fascism, is the greatest danger the Western world faces, should thank President Bush for his steadfastness and courage. I thank him from the bottom of my heart.


I was depressed last week because I thought whatever partial victory the Israelis had achieved on the ground would be stolen from them by members of the U.N. Security Council who believe, as the French, Russians and Chinese do, that they should continue to do business with international terrorists and their state sponsors, including Iran, Iraq and Syria. When the final resolution was adopted by the Security Council, I understood how extraordinarily effective John Bolton, our U.N. delegate, had been, supported by our only major ally there, Great Britain, as a result of the courage of Prime Minister Tony Blair in undoubtedly overruling many of his own cabinet members who seem to have forgotten the lessons of appeasement that were painfully learned in the days of Chamberlain and World War II.


The final resolution, while undoubtedly watered down from the initial American proposal, nevertheless could yield positive results if the international military forces in conjunction with the Lebanese army disarm Hezbollah in southern Lebanon from the Israeli border to the Litani River. According to The New York Times of August 12th, "The United Nations resolution extends Unifil's mandate by a year and empowers it to take action 'to insure that its area of operations is not utilized for hostile activities of any kind' and 'to resist attempts by forceful means to prevent it from discharging its duties'...The zone for the new joint force extends from the border of Israel and Lebanon — the so-called blue line — to the Litani River, roughly 15 miles to the north. That zone would be declared free of all 'armed personnel, assets and weapons other than those of the government of Lebanon and Unifil.'"


It will shortly be crystal clear whether or not the U.N. troops supplied by France, Australia, Italy and Turkey to support the Lebanese army will, in fact, have the will to engage in disarming the Hezbollah terrorists who have already given notice that they will not lay down their arms, notwithstanding that Hezbollah representatives in the Lebanese cabinet voted in favor of the U.N. cease-fire resolution.


There are now 30,000 Israeli soldiers on the ground in southern Lebanon, prepared to turn over the area they have conquered at great cost in casualties to the U.N. force and Lebanese army. If Hezbollah does not disarm, resumes shooting rockets into Israel and the U.N. forces and Lebanese army decline or are unable to enforce the resolution, the Israeli government will have to decide whether once again to resort to full-scale war. I believe Israel would have no option but to fight.


The lessons of history are clear. When Hitler sent his troops into the Rhineland in 1936 in violation of the Treaty of Versailles, Britain and France did nothing. If they had marched against Germany, it was later learned, Hitler was prepared to back down immediately. Because the Allies did not respond, Hitler correctly saw there was a failure of will on their part. As a result, the tyrant was emboldened. He invaded Poland in 1939, beginning World War II, which cost 50 million lives.


While the war in Lebanon was raging, British Intelligence learned of a plot by Islamic fascists to blow up ten airliners flying between Heathrow airport and the United States. If they had succeeded, as many as 4,000 passengers would have died, most of them Americans. The war goes on. It is important to repeat the stated goal of the terrorists, as reflected in the words of the late Musab al-Zarqawi, leader of al-Qaeda in Iraq before U.S. forces killed him. He said, "Killing the infidels is our religion, slaughtering them is our religion, until they convert to Islam or pay us tribute."


The terrorists are counting on the Western world being unable to muster the will to sacrifice lives to save our civilization. They are also counting on help from "sleeper cells" in Western countries. These secret cells are comprised of citizens born in those countries, as were the 24 second-generation Pakistanis, born in Britain, just apprehended in the alleged plot to blow up the ten passenger planes.


If we are to survive and win this battle of civilizations which will go on for years, we must, as we did in World War II, unite at the water's edge and find a way to convince our former Western allies, led by France, to join us in a common front willing to stand and fight international terrorism — Islamic fascism — as we stood and successfully defeated Hitler and his Nazi legions.


Slowly, too slowly, the Western world is beginning to wake up and recognize how unbelievably cruel these Muslim fanatics are, and the danger they pose to the future of humankind. Christians, Jews, Hindus and a majority of Muslims must find a way to jointly rise up and resist these evil people who are bent on our destruction.


The son of a close friend of mine, an American who married an Israeli, moved to Israel as a permanent immigrant about a year ago with his family. He recently wrote to me, "Morale here is grim; not defeatist, but resigned. There are no Six Day victories in Lebanon (or Gaza). On the radio this morning, the commentators said that for Israel, a state-of-war is the norm — and cease-fires are a nice vacation. I hear this theme more and more these days. But I also hear everyone saying that this is their country, and they're not going anywhere: Hezbollah, Hamas be damned."


I replied: "We will prevail."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2006, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles