Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 28, 2006 / 4 Elul, 5766

Sky high? What if sky's the limit?

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It has been a few weeks since gas prices were the BIG story. This doesn't mean gas prices have plummeted. It just means, for the moment, our blood pressure isn't boiling over.


Why not? You still can pay more than $3 a gallon anywhere you look. A year ago, the national average was $2.28. The year before that, it was $1.79. Two years before that it was $1.31.


The profits for Big Oil still are embarrassing. The OPEC nations that get filthy rich from our spending — some of which might like to see us wiped out, if we weren't such good customers — still are raking in the money.


But, for the moment, we seem to have sighed and accepted it. We always do. I laugh when people say, "Pretty soon, Americans are just going to say, 'That's it! I'm not taking it anymore!'"


Come on. We're going to take it. You don't think so? I'll give you two words:


Bottled water.


Think about it. Do you remember, not long ago, when the idea of charging for water was obscene? Water? Come on. You get it free at restaurants. You can guzzle it at a public fountain. Water? Who would pay for water?


But look around now. People shell out $2 or $3 for a bottle of water. At a health club or an outdoor fair, they have to have it. At the airport, they buy it with a magazine. Even at home, where they could fill a glass from the sink, they open the refrigerator and unscrew a plastic bottle top.


If we'll pay this much for water, what makes you think there's a cap on what we'll spend for gas?


After all, you need gas to get anywhere. You can't drive to work without it. You can't drive to the movies without it. You can't go anywhere without it — unless you take public transportation. But, oops! There isn't much of that around here.


So what do we do? We complain. We grouse. We swear. We shake our heads.


And we pump. We'll keep on pumping.


And you know what?


The oil companies know it.


Why do you think we get the same lame explanations every time gas prices jump 20 cents in a week? Why is there always some talking head from an oil or gas company who sadly blames this pipeline or that refinery? Why do we accept it when Exxon Mobil and BP announce record-shattering profits while acting as if they're just as concerned as we are? How can they be so brazen?


Because they know we'll come back. They know we'll keep paying for gas. People thought $2 a gallon would be some breaking point. Then they said $3. I hear people say now, "If it reaches $4, that's gonna be it!"


That's gonna be what? We'll pay $5 a gallon. We'll pay $10 a gallon. We'll cut back on all kinds of other things before we stop driving. It's because we are too dependent on our wheels, too used to our comforts and lifestyle, and too beaten down by corporations and multinationals to feel we can make any difference.


All we can do is complain. And after a while, as you can tell by the relative quiet the last few weeks, we even get tired of doing that.


Meanwhile, we keep shelling out for gas-guzzling trucks and SUVs. We keep accepting our politicians' foot-dragging on alterative energies. We keep complaining about imminent danger from certain foreign countries, while continuing to send those countries billions for their oil. Fine. That's our choice.


Just don't tell me the tipping point is coming. We've shown no evidence of having one. And because of that, the only thing you can truly say about gas prices is this: They are not going down.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"The Five People You Meet in Heaven"  

A novel that explores the unexpected connections of our lives, and the idea that heaven is more than a place; it's an answer. Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2006, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles