Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 14, 2006 / 20 Menachem-Av, 5766

Giving the dogsled champion her due

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Once again, I am late getting around to Susan Butcher. It has happened before. The first time was 15 years ago in Alaska. I was there to cover the Iditarod dogsled race, the only reporter from the continental states to do so. Butcher was about the only name anyone had ever heard of, mostly because 1) she was a woman, 2) she had won the Iditarod four of the previous five years, and 3) who knows anything about dogsled racing?


But I delayed getting to her because, frankly, I was intimidated. I had heard she did not suffer fools well, and I felt like a fool among all the dogs and snow. I also heard that she did not suffer humans well. She prefers "dogs to people," one musher said. Another local told me, "You don't have enough fur."


When I finally did meet Susan Butcher, it was just before the race began, at a veterinarian's office on the edge of Anchorage. I was introducing myself to her husband, Dave Monson, and she pushed through the door and asked him to "braid my hair." It wasn't the opening line I expected from a woman rumored to be tougher than leather, a woman who had once held an angry moose at bay with a stick for half an hour, until another musher came along and shot it.


That kind of stuff happens in the Iditarod. You get used to it.

IGNORING AN EMBARRASSING MOMENT ON THE TRAIL
Anyhow, when she finally did speak to me, she talked about . . . basketball. She talked about maybe naming one of her dogs "Isiah" after Isiah Thomas. She talked about wanting children. She talked about taking the phone out of her cabin in the tiny town of Eureka — which at the time had 11 people — because her life was getting too hectic.


Mostly she spoke with her dogs. They seemed to have a private communication. Her voice went soft and girlish with them, she nuzzled them, she caressed them. There were more dogs there than I could count, yet she knew every name. She spoke of their strength and heroism on the trail. Unlike most sports, where the athlete pounds his chest, dog mushers realize that their two feet are useless if the four-feeters aren't getting it done.


I left Butcher that day feeling I had met a tough, unique, passionate individual. I wrote a column about her strange ways. I figured it would run in the Detroit Free Press and that was that.


More than a week later, deep into the 1,150-mile race, I came upon her late at night, around a campfire. She was tending to her team, feeding the dogs tiny chunks of meat. It was cold beyond freezing. Smoke came from our breath.


"So," she said, spotting me, "I like dogs better than humans?"


I gulped. She grinned and walked away. It was only then I found out that my columns had been picked off a wire service and were running daily in the Anchorage newspaper. She'd read everything.

IGNORING DOMINATING THE MEN OF THE WILDERNESS
It was in another newspaper last week that I read Susan Butcher had died. She was only 51. Leukemia. People who knew her seemed stunned, as if they expected her to beat the disease the way she beat blinding snowstorms, dangerous moose and the husky men who raced against her. True enough, she tried a risky move against her illness, a stem-cell transplant.


But the cancer won. She left behind her husband, and the children she told me she planned to have — two daughters, 11 and 6. And, of course, all those dogs.


I never went back to the Iditarod. I never got to tell her, or the readers of this column, that she was more historic than we ever acknowledged. Long before attractive young golfers such as Annika Sorenstam and Michelle Wie made news playing against men, Susan Butcher was beating men regularly. She outlasted and outsmarted them in the toughest of competitions. She even inspired a T-shirt I still own: "Alaska — Where Men Are Men And Women Win The Iditarod."


She revolutionized her sport. She honed a legacy of caring for the dogs above all else. And she died too soon.


Obituaries are supposed to come quickly after death. So once again, I'm behind on this amazing woman. Then again, Susan Butcher was a few steps ahead of all of us.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"The Five People You Meet in Heaven"  

A novel that explores the unexpected connections of our lives, and the idea that heaven is more than a place; it's an answer. Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2006, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles