Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 16, 2005 / 11 Av, 5765

NASA should set its sights a bit lower

By Lenore Skenazy


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Discovery touched down in the California desert last week, one day and 3,000 miles from where and when it was scheduled to land. Which sounds a lot less like the glory of intergalactic travel and a lot more like the pain of flying coach. Another delay. Another airport. No, we cannot put you on an earlier flight. No, we do not serve food.

Well, I guess the astronauts got food. But I'll bet the movie was just awful.

So maybe it's time to face the fact that space travel is just a lot less glamorous than it was back when we got to watch spacewalks during actual school time. That was a great era. Now an astronaut schleps his Craftsman tools through zero gravity, does unprecedented repair work that possibly saves the entire mission, heads back to the commander who is a woman, for gosh sakes, while in classrooms all over America, bright-eyed kids play poker on their cell phones.

Glad as Americans are that the astronauts came home safe and sound, I don't know anyone who felt particularly stirred when Commander Eileen Collins pleaded from the Mojave: "Please support us!" She said shuttle missions are making life "better for all of us in this country and around the world."

Oh yeah? How, exactly? Lately, the experiments on the shuttle have seemed straight out of "My First Outer Space Science Kit." Astronauts have studied how spiders behave in microgravity, I guess in case we ever find any flies out there. They've studied slime mold, which they could have done right in my kitchen, and how snail embryos grow in space. Snail embryos! Can you think of anything less exciting? NASA did: They also studied Japanese carp in space. Not how Japanese carp in space ("This capsule's smaller than my Mazda!") Actual carp. Gefilte fish, pre-jar.

This most recent mission's crew met up with the International Space Station in part to take out its garbage. Then they hauled it back to Earth. Just what we need more of.

Donate to JWR


To be fair, NASA has also given us earthlings quite a few items we use every day. Not Tang and Velcro — that's just an urban (interplanetary?) myth. But thanks to NASA we do have the Dustbuster — modeled on a vacuum originally developed to suck up moon rocks. And we've got the smoke detector. (I wonder if the one in outer space starts beeping in the middle of the night?) NASA also gave us the trash compactor, scratch-resistant eyeglass coating and the technology behind the Support Her Bra — one giant jiggle-free leap for womankind.

Some of these items have made Earth a better place. But did we have to launch human beings into space to discover them? No. That's why from now on, I propose that NASA engineers skip the actual space travel part and just concentrate on developing new technology.

But once those keen, creative minds have created the next Dustbuster or bounceless bra or even freeze-dried escargot, they shouldn't bother sending it into orbit. They should send it straight to Wal-Mart. It's less expensive that way, less dangerous and that's where it's all going to end up, anyway.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy is a columnist for The New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2005, NY Daily News

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles