Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 1, 2005 / 25 Taamuz, 5765

A few Dear Janes await Fonda

By Lenore Skenazy


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | ITEM: Actress Jane Fonda has launched an anti-Iraq war protest — infuriating veterans still seething from her Vietnam antics. She ... plans to cruise a vegetable-oil-fueled bus across the U.S.

Here's a peek into what just might be in Jane Fonda's mailbox:

Dear Ms. Fonda:

We here at Veggie-Fuels received your kind offer with great ... um ... surprise. Who wouldn't be flattered that a woman of your stature was volunteering to champion their vegetable-based gasoline as vigorously as you have championed, well, so many other causes over the years? Causes we all remember so vividly? It's not that we don't want our fuels to be associated with you, even if some of your past actions still engender murderous rage in half the population nearly 40 years later. (How time does fly!)

No, it's just that we ... are closing for vacation. Yes, that's it! We are closing for summer vacation. So maybe you should call the folks at Prius, and we'll talk some other time.

Wishing you well, even if my brother always swore he'd impale you if he ever met you (perhaps another reason not to stop by).

Yours, Roger Feller, CEO, Veggie-Fuels Ltd.

"Alternative Fuels Even for People Who Hate Jane Fonda"


Dear Jane:

How exciting that you have decided to start protesting the war in Iraq! What a shocker that must be to the average American: Jane Fonda is against a war. Stop the presses!

As ardent anti-war activists who haven't taken off the last two years for a book and movie deal, we are pleased you have finally noticed our organization and would like some of our bumper stickers.

We believe, as you do, that peace in Iraq is of paramount importance. Frying onion rings in your gas tank? Less so.

Yeah, that veggie oil thing really adds a lot of gravitas to our cause. "Do you want fries with that moral outrage?" Really makes the whole anti-war movement look focused. Thanks a ton.

I'm sure you'll understand that, due to "shortages," we can't send you bumper stickers. No buttons either. But good luck driving down memory lane smelling like a Burger King. And remember: If you stop by this office, you will not be buzzed in. I'm sure you understand.

Penny Dickle, President, Normal Americans (Not Jane Fonda) for Peace in Iraq

Donate to JWR




Dear Ms. Fonda:

As the publishers of your autobiography, "My Life So Far," we, of course, appreciate any publicity efforts you are making on the book's behalf. But would you be so kind as to talk up the Roger Vadim threesomes a little more and your one-woman crusade to end a war that, realistically, cannot be brought to a close simply because you abhor it ... a little less? Thanking you in advance,

Yours, The Publicity Department

P.S. If an Iraqi insurgent invites you to climb on his machine gun and there are cameras present, please decline.


Jane:

You STILL Hanoi me.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy is a columnist for The New York Daily News. Comment by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2005, NY Daily News

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles