Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 19, 2005 / 14 Av, 5765

Mighty Mouse may save your day

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It seems doubtful there will be much of a middle ground among those who try, and use, Apple Computer's $49 Mighty Mouse, recently introduced to Mac lovers, but also usable on a Windows PC.

You'll either love it or hate it, I suspect. And, if you're not using the latest version of Apple's Mac OS X, dubbed Tiger, some features won't be available.

Having Tiger installed helps put me in the "love it" category for now. As I play with the mouse, and understand a bit more of the design philosophy, it's quite impressive. This is one of the fastest mice — in terms of scrolling — that I've ever used. The scroll feature isn't a wheel, as found on many mice, but a small button that can scroll in many directions. Getting through Web sites or spreadsheets can be a breeze.

Rolling the scroll wheel on my usual mouse is a big part of the day. Microsoft's Wireless IntelliMouse Explorer 2.0 added side-to-side tilting for the wheel, so some multidirectional scrolling could be done. In a side-by-side test, however, the Mighty Mouse is noticeably faster than the Microsoft product. The IntelliMouse is slow in vertical scrolling.

The Apple product could be described as a two-button mouse with only one button. How so? Simple: You can configure the left or right side of the mouse to perform an alternate action. Click the mouse full on, and you'll get, well, a click. Favor the right side, at least in my setup, and you'll get an alternate menu, the same as with a right click of a two-button mouse. (Confused? An experienced mouse user can explain.)

I don't know how this works — Apple's Scott Brodrick, the product marketing manager for, ahem, Mighty Mouse, just said it did — but it's a sight to behold. Such preferences are set, on the Mac, via a "Systems Preferences" control panel. It's also where you can designate an action for the side buttons, as well as when you press down on the scroll point.

The side buttons can be set to display the various Dashboard "widgets" that are now standard in the Apple operating system. Or they can invoke the "Application Switcher," which lets you easily move among open programs on the computer. In my case, I chose to use them to invoke "Expose," the Mac OS feature that lets me see all the windows on my desktop at once, and pick the one I want to bring up. Pressing the scroll point, for me, invokes application switching.

Donate to JWR


That's part of the beauty of the Mighty Mouse, that you can very much customize these features and develop a way of working with which you are comfortable. On the Windows side, you'll have less flexibility, but the various buttons can still invoke certain PC actions, Apple's Mr. Brodrick assures me.

Another nice feature of the System Preferences settings is that you can change the scrolling, tracking and double-click speeds of the mouse, which is a feature also found on the Microsoft product, and, indeed, on most modern mice.

What's not to like? Besides the name, which just irks a bit, there are those who won't like the Mighty Mouse's cord. It should be wireless, like the Microsoft product. Maybe so, but there are those of us who don't mind a wire on occasion, and perhaps a wireless version will arrive at some point.

If nothing else, the Mighty Mouse deserves a serious look from dedicated desk jockeys. Apple, for me at least, has produced a stellar product that should appeal to many users.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles