Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 3, 2005 / 27 Tammuz, 5765

It's still a ‘War’ on Terror — however you call it

By Jack Kelly

>
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The War on Terror is ending, at least in the rhetoric of senior Bush administration officials.

In the last couple of weeks, the Secretary of Defense, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and the National Security Adviser have eschewed that description of the conflict we are in for (what I imagine they think is) broader, more descriptive phraseology.

In a speech at the Naval Academy, Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld praised the retiring chief of naval operations as an officer who served with distinction as "our country wages the global struggle against the enemies of freedom, the enemies of civilization."

In a speech at the National Press Club, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Gen. Richard Myers, said he objected to the term "war on terrorism" because "if you call it a war, then you think of people in uniform as being the solution."

"It's more than just a military war on terror," National Security Adviser Steven Hadley told the New York Times. "It's broader than that. It's a global struggle against extremism. We need to dispute both the gloomy vision and offer a positive alternative."

The language shifts, the Times reporters noted, "come at a time when Mr. Bush, with a new appointment for one of his most trusted aides, Karen Hughes, is trying to bolster the State Department's efforts at public diplomacy."

The language change will please many. When I visited the Army War College last year, several of the professors there were scornful of the expression, "War on Terror."

"It makes it sound as if we're fighting a technique, not an enemy," said one, to vigorous head-nodding from the others.

The Canadian columnist David Warren is a staunch supporter of the war on terror, but he thinks it ought to be called by another name.

"'War on Terror' is an exceptionally lame expression," he said. "It raised the question 'Who is Terror?' without deigning to answer it...It is not even a strategy, but merely a tactic; nor an end, but a means."

Reluctant as I am to disagree with such learned gentlemen, I think that "War on Terror" is a perfectly fine description of the conflict we are in, and that changing it would be a mistake.

Myers and Hadley object to the term "War on Terror" because it implies a military struggle, while this conflict is also ideological and political.

But so what? World War II was also ideological. The Cold War was mostly ideological and political, with a lot less real fighting than we've had so far in the War on Terror.

We Americans frequently use "war" as a metaphor for total mobilization against a perceived scourge. If we can have a "War on Poverty" or a "War on Drugs," we ought also to be able to have a "War on Terror," especially since this last actually involves the use of real soldiers in real battles.

And would we not benefit if the world would agree that no cause justifies the employment of terror? The Geneva Conventions did not attempt to ban war, but did, with some success, ban certain vile practices within war, such as the use of chemical weapons and the mistreatment of prisoners.

The Army War College intellectuals disdain declaring war on a technique rather than an enemy. But al Qaida's plummeting popularity in Iraq and in the broader Arab world is due more to the techniques that it is employing — blowing up large numbers of Arab civilians — than to its goals. We'd be mighty foolish to stop talking about what Muslims dislike most about our enemies.

Donate to JWR


And there are problems with alternative formulations. The "struggle against violent extremism" is as imprecise with regard to the identity of with whom we are struggling as is the "war on terror," with the added imprecision of what it will take to beat them. A "struggle" just doesn't seem to be as big a deal as a "war".

Lending precision — say, the struggle against violent Islamic extremism — may be helpful in the West, though most of us have already figured that out. But when we say "Islamist," those in the Middle East with whom we want to ally might hear "Islam," and that would not be helpful at all.

Finally, the English word "struggle" translates into Arabic as "jihad." Is it a good idea for us to be endorsing jihad in any context?

We are engaged in a "struggle" we cannot win unless we kill most of those who are trying to kill us. Calling this a war seems appropriate, even if that offends the sensibilities of the Politically Correct.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration. Comment by clicking here.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2005, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles