Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 30, 2005 / 25 Av, 5765

Missing the lessons in all the coverage

By Marianne M. Jennings

Marianne M. Jennings
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I cannot fathom her parents' loss, but I also cannot abide another Natalee Holloway story. The media circus surrounding this teen's mysterious disappearance on the Dutch isle of Aruba has so desensitized me that I find myself looking at her stepfather in his Fox News interviews and wondering, "How does a human being come to be named Jug Twitty? Now there's your story!" When they say the name of "Joran van der Sloot," the odd-one-out-suspect with the brothers Kalpoe, I begin speaking with a Fargo, ND accent, don't you know. If the media don't let up, Cindy Sheehan will trek to Aruba, agitated that the Holloway case competes for coverage of her anti-war Crawford, Texas vigil. Joan Baez will follow her, and it will be centuries before we have diplomatic relations with Aruba again.

Coverage of such tragedy plays a critical role in moving society to action. The intense media coverage of Elizabeth Smart's disappearance from her Utah home and subsequent rescue taught us two things: (1) never hire street people as cheap contract labor; and (2) never, ever lose hope. Coverage of Jessica Lunsford's disappearance and death at the hands of an unregistered and convicted sex offender has brought reform around the country. With her father testifying and urging action, states have increased child sexual abuse penalties and implemented greater control on released sex offenders and their mandatory registration. We don't act without emotion and tragic events, widely covered, get us rolling.

But, what are the lessons of "Natalee"? We refer to her on a first-name basis because she has crossed over into People familiarity, with Brad, Jen, Angelina, Jude, et al. We hear daily from the Twittys and Holloways that the Aruban police are inept. Of course they're inept. Murder investigations are a tad above their experience levels. The worst crimes they ever grappled with prior to this one were: (1) U.S. tourists' shirts that were an affront to society; and (2) unsightly cellulite on beaches. The police handled the latter by having them put said shirts back on. Dutch law carries a lesser-of-two-evils mandate. The Aruban police force is trained in litter and jay-walking. DNA is something even LAPD couldn't get right with OJ.

Or is the Natalee lesson that U.S. authorities were slow to head down to Aruba to show the little Dutch boys how they do things downtown? Mr. Bush has enough Maureen Dowd columns to keep him busy without adding another country invasion to her agenda.

There are several terrific lessons in the Holloway case that no one dares mention. And as the media migrate to Columbus, Ohio to cover yet another disappearance of one Julie Popovich, model and Ohio State student, the same lessons emerge there. "Natalee" was last seen leaving a nightclub in the wee hours. "Julie," although we really don't know her well enough yet (she's about 5 more Greta Van Susteren shows short of a first-name basis), was last seen leaving the fine establishment of "Ledo's Bar" at 1:00 AM. Shall we just say that Ledo's ain't Aruba? The EMF from the overhead wires surrounding the joint will kill you if its liquor's strength doesn't.

We used to know several things: nothing good ever happens to young women out and about, especially unescorted and unaccompanied, after midnight. We used to know that 18 was too young to head down Venezuela way for a senior trip with unsupervised downtime. What ever happened to a day trip to Kennywood Amusement Park or Six-Flags-Over-Whatever for the senior trip? Or even some form of recreation that did not involve passports?

Donate to JWR


Men used to know, as Jimmy Stewart said in The Philadelphia Story, that when women were the worse or better for liquor, there were rules. No taking advantage when women are three sheets to the wind. Jimmy Stewart chivalry has expired. Young men slip mickeys (or whatever they are called now) into young women's drink to get them truly amenable to romance, a charitable label for their planned activities with the fairer sex in a stupor. Liquor + nightclubs + young attractive women = Trouble, When did we lose this wisdom? We don't always understand the type of trouble or its level, but L+N+YAW= Trouble in both Aruba and Ledo's, and that's trouble with a capital "T," and that rhymes with "Natalee" and "Julie."

If I seem to be advocating a return to the days of, "You asked for it!", well, yes I am. Desperate hooligans cannot take advantage of women who are in their rooms and sober, except during the Clinton administrations at the state and federal levels.

Every parent of a daughter has take-aways from this case. Unfortunately, the sensitive media have issued a "mum's the word." Instead they take Jug's theory that ineptness is the lesson and cause of his stepdaughter's disappearance. I allow that speculation as his means of handling grief. I remain grateful to him for the cautions he has issued unwittingly but has not yet grappled with — the same ones the media will not touch. Society's blame rests in its newfangled licentiousness for women in defiance of time-tested rules of conduct and hormones. Men always make passes, and then some, at women with glasses, especially when those glasses are filled with hard liquor.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Marianne M. Jennings is a professor of legal and ethical studies at Arizona State University. Send your comments by clicking here.

Marianne M. Jennings Archives

© 2005, Marianne M. Jennings

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles