JWR Only in the Middle East!

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 18, 2004 / 1 Elul, 5764

Making better prisoners

By Jeff Dunetz


THEY SURE SHOWED 'EM WHO IS BOSS!
Jailed Arabs in Hadariam prison, north of Tel Aviv
flash the V-for-victory sign
Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It finally happened! Usually, I assume that the press coverage of Israel is going to be biased and unfair. Sometimes during my morning commute into the city I begin to display a knee-jerk reaction, angrily muttering to myself, just from reading headlines. But no more! Today an important lesson was learned. There are cases where the press can be right about its Middle-East coverage.


This morning as I sat alone on the 6:59 to Penn Station (getting the usual strange looks from the other passengers) I began to read the headlines describing the hunger strike being waged by Palestinian terrorists being held in Israeli jails. I began to fume as usual.


"Here we go again with the unbalanced coverage," I thought. "Terrorists go on a hunger strike and newspaper editors give it as much space as the disaster of Hurricane Charlie, the deadly showdown going on between U.S. troops and the troops loyal to Muqtada al-Sadr in Najaf Iraq, the Presidential elections or even the Olympic Games. These prisoners already receive a number of privileges including access to television (the Israeli government buys the tier with several channels from Arab countries), radio, newspapers, university education, additional special food (spices, types of meat, canteen goods), electronic games etc. They are even allowed to petition the Israeli courts (and win). How can the press take so much interest in 1,600 Palestinians refusing to eat, protesting what they feel are horrible conditions in Israeli jails?" With each headline, I got angrier.


Then it struck me, the media is right. This IS big news…it should be getting even MORE coverage. These Palestinians imprisoned for participating in acts of terrorist murder have had a change in heart, are all of a sudden they are turning into Mahatma Gandhi clones, staging a hunger strike. In addition, they are even participating in the Israeli national sport — strikes. No wonder why this is a major story.



Donate to JWR


What these nouveau-pacifists want? Apparently, there is a list of 200 demands, including: public telephones, no more strip or cell searches, no partitions for visitors, facilities to cook their own food, access to cell-phones, computers, photo copiers, fruit knives, cell and karate classes.


Prison authorities say that the Palestinians want these goods so that they can participate in terrorist operations from jail. They point to examples of prisoners using smuggled cell phones or passing plans to visitors as reasons why many of these demand cannot be met. Israel is even thinking of setting up barbeques outside of the prison gates, hoping that the smell of burning knockwurst, and a few Kosher dills, will make the prisoners so hungry that they will give up their strike demands.


The Israeli government is wrong on this. It is obvious that the years of harsh prison life has caused these prisoners to reform. Watching Arab TV and playing video can make even the most thick-skinned terrorist atone. Look at the demands. Sure, they are asking for items that can be used for terrorist activity, but killing civilians is the only job they know. Of course, they want to become better terrorists.


Israel should be looking for a way to compromise before it is too late. Soon France will demand that each prisoner be allowed to take bomb-building classes or Kofi Annon will ask, "How is it possible for Israel to be right and 1,600 prisoners wrong?" The World Court may even soon rule that depriving prisoners the ability to become better terrorists is against International Law. Any day now, Britain's Lord Snow or France's Dominique de Villepin may begin a hunger strike in sympathy with the terrorist protesters, demanding that Israel give them the ability to reach the top of their profession.


There is a middle ground here, a way to give the prisoners a chance for more independence and self-fulfillment. For example, instead of giving prisoners their own kitchens, why not offer each prisoner free food and delivery from the Kosher Burger King in Jerusalem? Even let them order their happy meals super-sized. This is the essence of compromise; no kitchens — no danger, and each prisoner will still have it their way with Burger King. No need for fruit knives…this is finger food!


Photocopiers and computers can be a bit expensive, and folks who run the prisons are afraid that they will be used to copy and transmit plans and ideas for new terrorist actions. Well instead of the heavy electronics, how about giving the terrorists some nice crayons and tracing paper?


Whenever I used to fight with my siblings, mom used to give us crayons and tracing paper. It always kept us calm for a while. Tracing paper will help the prisoners remain calm. To help this cause, I will call mom she must have some left.


The toughest demand is the Karate classes. Here the Palestinian terrorist must be looking for some physical and mental challenges. Ultimatel this is probably a good thing. I do however agree with the Israeli government, when they say that it is probably best not to train terrorists in the Martial Arts. Today at lunch, I stumbled upon the perfect solution.


Munching down a brisket sandwich, I overheard the conversation of two women who had flown to New York to escape the hurricanes in Florida. The two women, Toby and Sadie, were talking about a killer game of mahjong that they played in Boca last year. What a great idea, and who would appreciate a killer game of anything more than 1,600 Palestinian terrorists. The neat part is that Toby and Sadie are available. They have offered to go to Israel to help the prisoners become better killers. The killer mahjong classes start as soon as we can arrange airfare. Not only will this help defuse the situation but it will go a long way in improving Israel's world image. After all, everyone knows that helping the Palestinians become better killers will make France, the EU, and the World Court, very, very happy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider must-reading. Sign up for our daily update. It's free. Just click here.

Jeff Dunetz is a regular contributor to Jewish World Review. Click here to visit his site. Comment by clicking here.


Let Madonna — OOPS! I mean ‘Esther’ — take the blame
Is Kofi Annan missing?
Groundhogs and human rodents
The Davinsky Code
The Secaucus Peace Plan: Making Peace ... the Colin Powell Way
What type of world will my children live in?
High Holiday Prayers --- for my enemies: 'Getting even' with the evil ones the Jewish way



© 2004, Jeff Dunetz