Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 30, 2014 / 3 Menachem-Av, 5774

Seven is the new eight when it comes to sleep

By Ana Veciana-Suarez



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Suddenly we're all talking about sleep -- how little we get, how badly we do it. When did something so natural, a simple act we usually take for granted, become such a problem?

I suspect there are a million answers to that question, each as unique as a fingerprint. Which may explain why several sleep studies in the past few weeks have made headline news, proving once again what we all know: We need our Zzzz's, and many of us aren't getting our recommended daily requirement.

First, a disclaimer: I'm a good sleeper. Wait, let me correct that. Compared to my friends, who suffer through night sweats, insomnia and middle-of-the-night worries, I'm a great sleeper. In fact, I'm often the butt of good-natured jokes because all my friends have gleefully observed my passage into the Land of Sweet Slumber: drooping eyelids, nodding head, slacking jaw -- and then abrupt quiet. This happens at late-hour-dinners, movie theaters, car rides, parties, anywhere and everywhere. I'm catatonic by 10 p.m. (The Hubby claims it's 9:30 -- but what does he know? He sometimes falls asleep before I do.)

I attribute this good fortune to my rigorous (some would say rigid) adherence to a sleep schedule. I'm up at 4:45 a.m. every morning, and, yes, that includes Saturday and Sunday. Even on vacation, when I want to sleep to, say, 6 a.m., I pop out of bed like a jack in the box ready to take on the day. I can't help it. My internal body clock, adjusted long ago to the responsibility of young children, got stuck on "EARLY." Can't seem to change it now. Just don't ask me to do any financial calculations past 9 p.m.

As I've grown older, my sleep has become slightly more erratic. Going to bed late, for example, doesn't always translate into a later wake-up. I must also watch my fluid intake in the evenings so I'm not stumbling to the bathroom several times in the middle of the night. And if I have a bad night, as all of us are wont to do, I -- and everyone around me -- pay for it with an extra dose of irascibility.



For so many people I know, the blessing of a good night's rest is as elusive as the loss of those last five stubborn pounds. How we sleep, and how much shut-eye we need, has become the new buzz-worthy topic for both researchers and news media. Experts are now saying that seven is the new eight. A six-year study of 1.1 million people by the University of California-San Diego concluded this magic number guarantees better cognitive function and lower mortality rate.

Not every expert agrees, of course, pointing out that we're all slaves to our genetic predispositions. (I suspect I come from a long line of peasants accustomed to waking before dawn to milk the cows and till the soil.) Some people can survive on five hours without surrendering to fumes and bad moods. I, on the other hand, can't make it through the day on that nightly diet.

So come what may -- teasing, barking dogs, loud music from partying neighbors -- I'm sticking to my sleep schedule. As more devices keep us connected 24/7 to an increasingly hectic world, as blinking cursors and back-lit screens invade the intimacy of our inner sanctums, society would do well to follow the wise words of Benjamin Franklin: "Early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise."

Comment by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:


Mom Just Wants a Little Facebook Time

I'm stressed out, but so is everyone else

Kids' fancy birthdays good for grandparents

A few words on the sad decline of reading

Handwritten letters: File under 'obsolete'

How did we all get by without all this stuff?

Ah, the freedom of summer

Work is less stressful than home

Let's not forget the play part of kindergarten

The food police keep giving us conflicting nutritional advice

Are Millennials moving us toward a post-racial society?

Times change, but the love of a grandparent is constant

Think before you dial, text, FaceTime, Skype, chat

Don't sacrifice too much at the altar of busyness

It's not about Gywneth Paltrow; it's about our insecurities and need to compare

Will you love me, granddaughter, when I'm (really, really) old?

We are failing to protect our children from abuse

The story of Marissa Alexander: When justice is blind, deaf and dumb

Why do women 'shop' in their friends' closets?

Mr. Smiley Testing My Patience

We're not forgetful, we just know too much

Why didn't I think of that? Another missed opportunity for invention

When being fair is really not, and other life lessons

Bridging the Generation Gap Has Gone Too Far


Ana Veciana-Suarez is a family columnist for The Miami Herald



© 2014, The Miami Herald Distributed by Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast