Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 16, 2014 / 18 Tammuz, 5774

I'm stressed out, but so is everyone else

By Ana Veciana-Suarez



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My jaw has been hurting lately. The pain is occasional and there's no physical explanation for it. Still, it arrives at the most unexpected -- and inconvenient -- times.

I'm listening to the car radio when it begins its familiar tap dance. Traffic is as snarled as a little girl's long tresses, and on a day that my schedule is jam-packed. (But what day isn't?) The windowless white van ahead of me, the same one that cut me off a few minutes earlier, is taking its sweet time chugging along the two-lane road. Frustrated, I lean on my horn, a futile act that does nothing more than block the deep, soothing voice wafting from the car speakers.

I breathe in. I breathe out. I force myself to relax, to listen.

The National Public Radio story is about stress, about how it takes a toll on health and family, how it is an inextricable part of our daily lives. Hear, hear, I say aloud. I suddenly realize I'm clamping down on my teeth hard, real hard. A rasping sound echoes inside my head. My jaw is bearing the heavy pressure of mundane worries, and the pain is its way of telling me to stop. Right. Now.

Hey, stress, dear friend, welcome back.

I'm hardly alone at feeling wigged out. I can't think of a single person -- friend or acquaintance, young or old -- who hasn't succumbed to tension and strain, to that overwhelming sense of having too much, way too much on one's plate. At a time when the pressure to do more with less is commonplace, stress has become our most faithful companion. Gripping our hand. Controlling our thoughts. Robbing our sleep.

An expert on the radio says that when you take into account everyday stressors, the percentage of stressed out Americans is actually higher than most people think. I agree. The stress that causes me to clamp my jaw and grind my teeth is the garden variety kind. Really, I have a good life, minimal worries.

And yet, that morning I shot up in bed at 4:37 a.m., my thoughts racing at Usain Bolt speed. As I staggered to get dressed, a long list of duties and appointments thumped a steady beat on my forehead. There was no slack in my schedule, no quiet moment to catch my breath. Not if I wanted to scratch off items from my eternally optimistic "to do" list.

I know better. We all do, but we've been brainwashed to think that if we're not busy every dang second of the day, we are wasting away. If the compulsion of productivity is as American as a Fourth of July hotdog eating contest, so is the emotional indigestion that comes with it. Too many of us get stuck in the hamster wheel of a 24/7 life, in an anxious sprint that never ends. Consider this all too common exchange.

"How are you?"

"Busy. How about you?"

"Slammed."



Everyone of us has spoken a variation of those words. That's because in modernspeak, busy is admired. Busy translates into going places. Busy means important. Busy equals indispensable.

More than anything, busy gives us an addictive high. And a pain in the jaw.

When the white van finally turns, I'm tempted to lower the window and give the driver a piece of my mind. That's too Miami, I chide myself, and speed past.

I breathe in. I breathe out. I open my mouth wide enough so my teeth are no longer battling each other in a fight to the death, and I relax my jaw.

It's not a smile, exactly, but it's a start.

Comment by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:


Kids' fancy birthdays good for grandparents

A few words on the sad decline of reading

Handwritten letters: File under 'obsolete'

How did we all get by without all this stuff?

Ah, the freedom of summer

Work is less stressful than home

Let's not forget the play part of kindergarten

The food police keep giving us conflicting nutritional advice

Are Millennials moving us toward a post-racial society?

Times change, but the love of a grandparent is constant

Think before you dial, text, FaceTime, Skype, chat

Don't sacrifice too much at the altar of busyness

It's not about Gywneth Paltrow; it's about our insecurities and need to compare

Will you love me, granddaughter, when I'm (really, really) old?

We are failing to protect our children from abuse

The story of Marissa Alexander: When justice is blind, deaf and dumb

Why do women 'shop' in their friends' closets?

Mr. Smiley Testing My Patience

We're not forgetful, we just know too much

Why didn't I think of that? Another missed opportunity for invention

When being fair is really not, and other life lessons

Bridging the Generation Gap Has Gone Too Far


Ana Veciana-Suarez is a family columnist for The Miami Herald



© 2014, The Miami Herald Distributed by Tribune Media Services, Inc.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast