Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 31, 2014 / 4 Menachem-Av, 5774

Can a murderer's execution be 'botched'?

By Ron Hart




JewishWorldReview.com | The recent “botched” execution in Arizona sparked more debate about the death penalty. But if the execution ended in the murderer’s death, then it was not botched. What did his victims endure?

The New York Times inadvertently committed journalism when it reported that approximately 12 recent studies have determined that the death penalty saves lives and serves as a deterrent. Some studies concluded that, for every execution, up to 18 murders are prevented.

I was once asked whether I was for or against capital punishment. The moderator knew the answer, but was shocked when I answered that I was against the electric chair. When he asked why, I said I was in favor of electric bleachers – until we get caught up.

My father was in law enforcement. I have seen the worst of mankind – and not just at our family reunions. There are very bad people out there whom we need to eliminate from the gene pool.

On both an intuitive and practical level, it is very clear to me that swift and certain consequences for killing (and, in my view, molesting or raping) another person should be imposed by our society. In short, we should make it clear that “If you kill someone, we will kill you back.”

With advances in DNA evidence, surveillance cameras and other law enforcement technologies, there will be fewer mistakes in the future, thus eliminating every other Hollywood movie script.

There is always the liberal knee-jerk reaction that, in the course of executing 1,000 murderers, we might execute one innocent person. This comes from the same people who are OK with abortion. Apparently there is nothing “innocent” about a baby.

Liberals love to say they are against the death penalty. It makes them feel so superior to those who are for it because, by their opposition, they theoretically just spared a life. In their personal narratives, liberals are invariably kind and heroic. They so want to be liked. If the murderer didn’t rape, torture and kill their daughter, it’s easy to be merciful. Like most liberal dogma, it is about them, not facts. Feelings always trump facts.

In a purely symbolic gesture, New Jersey’s nefarious former governor, Jon Corzine, abolished the state’s death penalty. New Jersey hadn’t executed anyone in 40 years. Would it not make sense to try it again before getting rid of it? Most New Jerseyans say they would rather murder in New York, anyway.

In July, a liberal judge in California declared that state’s death penalty unconstitutional. California executions are similar to those of other states, except they inexplicably manage to incorporate avocado into them.

Liberal icon Norman Mailer was the toast of the media when he won the release of a convicted murderer. But there was just a small footnote: The guy murdered again within weeks of his release. Oops!

I encourage you to read about the Wichita “BTK” (Bind, Torture and Kill) serial killer, who murdered 10 people from 1974-91. By his own admission, this church congregation president stopped murdering in 1991, when Kansas adopted the death penalty.

If you have ever attended a trial, you know that almost all the benefit of the doubt goes to the defendant. Through our tax dollars, we provide an inordinate amount of legal support to capital-murder defendants. Plus, every ponytailed attorney seeking to burnish his liberal street cred helps them out.

Trials in capital cases are so high-profile, and there are so many anti-death-penalty groups out there that will pounce on overzealous prosecutions, that I feel justice is served. Yet, convicted murderers sit on death row, filing appeal after appeal, until they die of old age.

I have full confidence in juries. Every jury I have sat on or seen has been sensible, except in Los Angeles. There, you can commit double murder, but you can’t steal sports memorabilia.

In the early-1970s, murder rates went up after the Supreme Court essentially put a moratorium on the death penalty. The liberal high court called executions "wanton and freakish."

That’s silly. If we outlawed all things wanton and freakish, what would become of the Kardashians or Lady Gaga?

It comes down to the simple view that the most violent among us only understand and fear such violence being wrought on themselves. Reasoning with them and “trying to understand” them just does not work.

And keep in mind, the recidivism rate among the executed hovers around zero.


Ron Hart Archives


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.



© 2013 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast