Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 16, 2014 / 18 Tammuz, 5774

America's 'World Cup' doesn't runneth over --- our borders do

By Ron Hart




JewishWorldReview.com | The U.S. soccer team did the impossible - they briefly got Americans interested in soccer. We Americans do not like a sport where the score seems to be always 0 to 0. I scored more in junior high school. Well, maybe the same.

Most countries fervent about soccer take the day off for the World Cup, although they will shut down for pretty much anything at any time if it involves drinking and the possibility of a fist fight. Most soccer countries have a riot-based economy anyway.

FIFA, the world soccer, tax-exempt organization that puts on the World Cup, is about as corrupt as the United Nations. Yet when our country is involved, even if it involves cock fighting, we patriotically care.

Obama pitched his Chicago to FIFA for the World Cup and lost to Qatar. He brought in Bill Clinton make the case for bringing this soccer event to the USA. Bill had a proven track of conducting off the record business under the table. But you could tell Clinton's heart wasn't in pitching for a game where men cannot use their hands.

With Hondurans, Guatemalans and Nicaraguans just waltzing across our borders for free welfare, health care, education and to take our jobs, we are becoming a soccer-loving country more and more each day. Where are our goalies on our borders?

Fifteen million Americans watched the U.S. team in the World Cup, which probably corresponds to the number of illegal aliens now living in our country. All 15 million of these fans went to various bars and stadiums to watch the games, yet they only took 500 cars.

Germany played Argentina in the final game. The only folks who were more torn about who to pull for than we Americans were the ex-Nazis living in Argentina since World War II. Historically, the countries who played well in the World Cup were Germany, Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil and Paraguay. For those at the Simon Wiesenthal Center, it was like a Nazi hunter's "Flee" Market.

Iraq clearly had no chance of winning its matches. When play heated up, Iraqi players took off their American-made uniforms, threw them on the ground for the other team to take, and ran.

The USA barely grasps the concept of World Cup soccer. If we play Afghanistan, Korea, Germany, Japan or Iraq, we either have to win or go home. There is no option in soccer whereby we can spend $1 trillion dollars and occupy those countries for 10 years so that we might claim victory.

Germany won it all, after another exciting 0 to 0 tie in 113 minutes of kickball. There was a lot of pressure for Germany's players to win. If they did not, many of them had plans to go into hiding with their grandparents in Argentina until things cooled down.

All countries revert to type. Once Germany rolled over Argentina, they wanted to go on to conquer Austria and Czechoslovakia and then Poland.

Germany dominated three teams to get to the championship. Their fans, all pumped up about their conquests, united in a patriotic frenzy and started singing pro-German songs in the stadium. What could go wrong? I suggest we keep an eye on their Instagrams on Throwback Thursday. They might be frightening.

During the same week as the win, German Chancellor Angela Merkel found out that the Obama administration had been spying on her - again. Earlier this year our NSA tapped her cell phone. Only our government could look at Angela Merkel and say, "Yeah, I'd tap that."

Germany and Japan topped the BBC poll of most popular countries. It is astonishing that we are firm allies of both Japan and Germany after two brutal world wars. I guess producing Heidi Klum and top-notch automobiles goes a long way toward mending feelings about past war crimes.



Germany does have its fiscal act together and a great friend to the U.S. Yes, it did lose wars with the USA, Russia and Britain that it started, but the country should be ranked in the top ten just based on strength of schedule.

If you love your country's soccer, you will now have to wait four years. It will take as long to get World Cup soccer back as it does to make a doctor's appointment at our VA or to get the IRS to locate those lost emails.


Ron Hart Archives


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.



© 2013 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast