Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 10, 2014 / 12 Tammuz, 5774

With 'friends' like Facebook . . .

By Ron Hart




JewishWorldReview.com | Facebook has endured. I thought the social networking phenomenon would have cooled off after everyone got to look at that sandwich I had for lunch or the family pictures from Dollywood I posted last year. But I was wrong. Perhaps I will post pictures from my upcoming trip to Euro-Dollywood, which I think is in Louisiana.

Facebook is more compelling than intrusive – so far. It gives everyone another chance to sleep with that person he or she knew in high school. How did we survive for so many years without it, not knowing who was feeling “truly blessed” each day, and why?

But now there are revelations that Facebook has been monkeying with us. We are the monkeys in their psychological experiments (on 700,000 unwitting users) about whether positive or negative things posted on the site evoke certain emotions. Like the Edward Snowden news, the U.S. media did not find out about these “mood manipulation” studies, nor did our government. The Financial Times in Europe broke the story.

The European authorities who discovered the experiment said they could levy a fine on Facebook of up to 500,000 pounds. With a market capitalization of $170 billion, Facebook responded, “500k pounds? That’s adorable.”

Privacy has somehow become an antiquated notion. Facebook and the Internet have ushered in an age George Orwell warned us of in “1984.” We are willing, even anxious, to put things that our parents’ generation would never tell anyone right on our Facebook page for all the world to see.

Technology is marvelous, but it can be used for good or bad. Here in Florida, members of Phi Kappa Alpha fraternity were busted for posting naked pictures of co-eds on Facebook. Back in my day, we had to take a Polaroid picture of our naked girls, shake it for 10 seconds, then show it to our buddies, one at a time. It was labor-intensive.

Facebook has even become an important conduit for political actions. It hastened the Arab Spring. President Obama used it well to spin his weak campaign message. Liberals love Facebook; they use social media to manipulate people of unreasoned emotions to vote for Democrats. They kill the GOP in this Svengali area. I think Mitt Romney’s campaign only had a MySpace page.

Occupy Wall Street protesters used free, capitalist-created Facebook, Apple iPhone apps, Google and Twitter to organize themselves against capitalism. They loitered in parks, spewing their message that life is so difficult because of capitalism, and they were willing to use every free, work-saving invention it produced to prove it.

The Internet has been very positive. It has opened up the world to the flow of ideas, more information and freer markets, primarily because government has not been very involved. But one of the casualties has been personal privacy. Either we accept this, or opt out.

We have a climate of unwarranted privacy invasions by our government. With the NSA spying on you, would you rather government or business have your personal information? Government will use it to tax you, harass you, destroy your reputation and send you to prison. Business will just send you coupons to buy those shoes you were looking at on Google.

In reality, I am not sure how accurate the information Facebook gets really is. When someone posts that he graduated from Yale, rarely does he mention that it was a locksmith training program.

A lot of deception surrounds the Internet and Facebook. We all have real friends and then we have “Facebook friends.” Post that you need a ride to the airport at rush hour, and see who’s willing to drive you. Those are your real friends.

Founder Mark Zuckerberg started Facebook under a cloud of deception. He settled with the Winklevoss twins by giving them 40 acres of Farmville land and a mule. He married a girl I think he stole from one of the Winklevoss twins. He is maturing; he wears more formal hoodies now. Maybe he will rethink his legacy. To keep his business viable, he has to be trusted.

MySpace blew up Friendster. Facebook killed MySpace after Zuckerberg lifted the idea from Harvard friends. Google spies on us and gives our information to the Feds. Twitter and Yik Yak trash talk users. At some point, social media needs to realize that it doesn’t grasp the concept of what a “friend” really is.


Ron Hart Archives


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.



© 2013 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast