Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Houseguests: Threat or menace?

By Jim Mullen




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Some people like having lots of company. They like having plenty to do. They like big breakfasts and hearty lunches and specially prepared dinners. They are called houseguests, and as they also like to travel, they will be coming to your house soon -- if they haven't been there already or are with you right now.

I'd like to say something clever here, something very Oscar Wildian or Cole Porterish, like, "There are two kinds of visitors: those who (insert annoying trait here) and those who (insert more annoying trait here)." Alas, I am not that clever. Besides, there are more than two types of visitors. There are hundreds of types.

There are those who like to help with chores around the house.

"Oh, no," they'll say, "you cooked the dinner, so let us clean up." And they do. They clear the table and wash the dishes and put them away. In places where you'll never find them in a million years. We found a frying pan we'd spent a month looking for in the broom closet. It was very, very clean. I'm sure our serving spoons will turn up one day, too. Maybe I should look in the basement.

Then there are the visitors who do no chores at all. The good news is we will find everything when they leave; the bad news is that we'll find it because it's right where they left it. Wet towels on the bathroom floor, peanut shells on the floor beside their bed. When they leave, they say, "Come visit us! We'd love to have you," as if that will make everything equal -- implying that when we come visit them, we can leave wet towels on their bathroom floor and eat peanuts in their bed. But it doesn't make us equal because we would never do those things. It just makes us not want to visit them even more.

There are visitors with well-behaved, happy, delightful children who are a joy to be with. At least I've heard there are, but we've never had them. We get the other kind. The ones with sulky teenagers and out-of-control toddlers. What the teenagers have to be sulky about is anybody's guess. They have cellphones and iPads and video games and streaming movies and free music and all the junk food they can eat, plus they can type with their thumbs. Why, oh why did we do that to them? How could we be so cruel?

"You've wrecked my life," they'll scream at their parents after coming down at 2 in the afternoon for breakfast. What do you say to that? "Not yet"? "You're welcome"? "Then we're doing something right"? How does a teenager know you've wrecked his whole life when most of it hasn't happened yet?



An especially difficult visitor is the old acquaintance -- a college classmate, an Army buddy, the close friend from long ago. The first couple of hours of catching up are great. Then you find out that you're on opposite sides of the political fence. That you drink beer and he likes wine; that you like fish and she likes fowl; that he goes to bed at midnight and you go to bed at 9; that she loves TV shows that you hate; that he has a spouse you can't stand and that they'll both be here for a full three-day weekend.

But there is also the houseguest whose visits are a real pleasure: the kind who shows up with a swag bag of goodies -- cheese, wine, fancy baked goods, expensive nuts, specialty coffee. Who loves to cook but also loves to clean up. This guest is a good conversationalist, is entertaining and can self-entertain, is good with kids and pets and is fun for the whole family, and yet is very unobtrusive.

Unfortunately, I can't be everywhere, but if you have a place on the beach this summer ...

ARCHIVES


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Jim Mullen is the author of "It Takes a Village Idiot: Complicating the Simple Life" and "Baby's First Tattoo."




© 2014, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast