Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Ask Mr. Know-It-All

By Gary Lee Clothier




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: A couple of deaf ladies live in a retirement home where I volunteer. To communicate, they write messages on paper. I remember a toy from when I was a youngster that was something like black wax paper affixed to cardboard with a removable clear plastic page attached. Using a stylus, you wrote on the plastic. When you were finished, you lifted the plastic page and your message disappeared, making it ready to write again. What is the name of the toy, and is it still available? -- J.E.M., Statesville, N.C.

A: The toy is called Magic Slate. It was created in the 1920s. You can find it on eBay or Amazon.com. What a great idea for communicating!

Q: I really enjoy the reruns of the TV series "Bonanza," and I like Pernell Roberts especially. I believe he was the last living member of the Cartwright clan; is he still alive? I think he was on the series "Trapper John, M.D." Can you tell me more about him? -- Shelbyville, Tenn.

A: Pernell Roberts was born May 18, 1928, and died Jan. 24, 2010, at age 81. Before going to Hollywood, Roberts honed his acting skills on stage. "Bonanza" enjoyed a long run, from 1959 to 1973. Roberts played the eldest son, Adam, from 1959 to 1965. At that point, he didn't renew his contract, citing creative differences.

From 1979 to 1986, Roberts played the main character on "Trapper John, M.D." He made many guest appearances on various shows, and he returned to the stage, his true love. In addition to acting, Roberts sang and narrated many documentaries. You are right: He was the last living Cartwright family member.

Roberts was a passionate champion of civil rights. He marched alongside Martin Luther King Jr. and protested NBC's usage of all white crews on "Bonanza."

DID YOU KNOW? In the 1942 movie "Casablanca," Rick Blaine never says, "Play it again, Sam." He says, "You played it for her, you can play it for me. Play it!"

Q: Could you give me an update on Annette Funicello? I know she has a really severe case of MS, and I was just wondering how she was doing. I haven't read anything about her in a long time, and I am concerned. Thank You. -- S.S.

A: Annette Joanne Funicello was born Oct. 22, 1942, in Utica, N.Y. She achieved immense popularity beginning in October 1955, when she debuted as a Mouseketeer on "The Mickey Mouse Club." While she was a Mouseketeer, she had many hit singles on the Hot 100 charts. She also traveled with Dick Clark's caravan on singing tours around the country. She and Paul Anka fell in love, and he wrote "Puppy Love" and "Put Your Head on My Shoulder" for her. She starred in many beach movies, usually with Frankie Avalon as the love interest. In 1987 they reunited for the film "Back to the Beach," a parody of their old movies.

In 1965, Funicello married Jack Gilardi. They had three children: Gina, Jack and Jason. The couple divorced in 1983. In 1986, she married Glen Holt. They are still married.

In 1992, Funicello announced that she had been battling multiple sclerosis, a degenerative neurological disease, since 1987. She founded the Annette Funicello Collectable Bear Company to help fund neurological research. The last bear in the series was made in 2004. She also started the Annette Funicello Research Fund for Neurological Diseases.

=<<


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


#42
#41
#40
#39
#38
#37
#36
#35
#34
#33
#32
#31
#30
#29
#28
#27
#26
#25
#24
#23
#22
#21
#20
#19
#18
#17
#16
#15
#14
#13
#12
#11
#10
#9
#8
#7
#6
#5
#4
#3
#2
#1


© 2011, Gary Clothier DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles