Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 4, 2012/ 14 Tamuz, 5772

Library Idol Worship

By Alan Douglas




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Is the United States of America headed down the toilet? I didn't think so, until I went to the library this morning. My newly renovated library has convinced me to convert my IRA to cash and buy emergency foodstuffs for the coming Armageddon. Like many of you, since childhood, libraries have been magical places for me, filled with adventure and wisdom; but not anymore.

In the midst of one of the worst messes in American history, my library has become a symbol of all that is unholy. I am not an opponent to change. The drastically reduced number of books and the increase in video, computers and other media in the library is understandable. We are all coping with the transition to new media so I can live with that.

The newly designated areas that segregate us by age rile me, but I can live with that also. The library has "lounge" areas for a teens' club, for children, and in vitro library card holders; each area has its own librarian to be sensitive to the specialized needs of their audience. When we want a pluralistic, multicultural, diverse, gender neutral society why not separate everyone by age under the guise of sensitivity. So, the teens gather in their area, free to conspire how to evade parental authority and slaves to raging hormones while the children romp around in their area, chewing on books, while the remainder of the adults cower back in the stacks. No more Walton family gatherings where young and old converge; live together, and learn from each other. But, I can live with that.

During the Great Depression all government workers, happy to have a job, accepted a 15% cut in their compensation. Yippppes!!! This across the board salary cut didn't have exceptions; it included politically sacred cows such as law enforcement, judges, the military, teachers, nurses, and those who belonged to public unions. Today, with a bigger deficient, we don't discuss higher taxes AND budget cuts, we talk of control sometime in the future. But as Peggy Noonan warned, "Down the road there will be fewer contracts in which you work for say, 23 years for a city, then retire with full salary and free health care for the rest of your life-paid for by taxpayers who cannot afford such plans for themselves, and who sometimes have no pension at all." The newly renovated library has marble bathrooms, new wood paneled meeting rooms and new fancy furniture that few library card holders could afford. There was nothing functional wrong or obsolete with the old bathrooms, or the furniture, or the walls. Thanks to a bond offering and federal funding, we spent money making our library exquisite and expensive. Waste and opulence in the face of a fiscal crisis by both liberals and conservatives is really stupid. But, I can live with that.

What I can't live with is the parking space situation at my newly renovated library. I pulled into the parking lot of the new media temple formerly known as a library, in my two decades old beloved automobile. The same three handicap spaces were there in front of the library, the one space for law enforcement and library vehicles had disappeared, and all the remaining parking spaces in front were marked, "LE-FE ONLY."

Despite my years of watching Jeopardy and my vast mental database of trivia and useless information I was flummoxed. Walking into the library's new multimedia lobby (all the free print publications from local papers had been banished) one of the high definition screens prompted me to learn about the virtues of the new library. My friendly screen told me that the prime parking spaces were now reserved, not for mothers with babies, not for the disabled, not for veterans, nor for law enforcement, but were especially for those leasing or making car payments on automobiles that are, Low Emitting Fuel Efficient.

If you read Consumer Reports or know how to use a calculator it is clear that owning a LEFE car is not cost effective, even at historically high gas prices. You own one of these expensive, and sometime explosive, cars to make a statement. There can be an advantage where commuter lanes are reserved for LEFE cars, as if that is the same as carpooling.

I understand what the library is telling me: "People who have high disposable income, are slaves to political correctness, and want to spend money foolishly, are now entitled to premium parking spaces." Darwin would laugh at the American folly of having our best capitalized, citizens who are the weakest willed, and have the least skilled financial intelligence, awarded these prime parking spaces. But wait, if you think I've gotten carried away-there's more.

My friendly screen in the multimedia library went on to tell me that in addition to the LEFE parking spaces there were ten secure places for people to park the bikes they ride to the library AND a fancy new shower facility had been installed for the sweaty biker commuters. You can laud these environmental patriots who are commuting using bikes, not me. While the rest of us in the private sector are facing a financial crisis, I see government and not for profits bemoaning their fate, and building expensive new showers for bike riders. Don't tell Peggy Noonan about this.

Still think I'm nuts? The new biker showers are NOT just for any bike riders. The only bike riders authorized to use the new shower facilities at my library are- librarians. The new showers are not available to taxpayers; they are only for use by government workers. I was curious enough to ask the manager at the library how many of his staff bike to work, using the bike spaces, and the new shower facility. He told me these new innovations had "great potential." I asked again, more pointedly, "How many of you are biking to work?" "None" he replied.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor, Alan Douglas, an author, media executive, award winning screenwriter (not produced), and attorney, lives con brio- except when he is grumpy.


Previously:

Holocaust Survivor, Museum Founder, Fired by Phone
Florida Attorneys to Shake Hands with the Devil
Holiday for the fallen and failed
Black History Month, Politics, and the Ice Cream Scoop
Friends With Benefits
Pilgrimages
Moneyball, Economics and Medicine
Justice, My Aunt, and Gretsky
Hurricanes, Earthquakes and Home Depot
Glenn Beck, Norway, Hitler and Me
D Day: The Ripple Effect
What are you paying for?
Law, Etiquette and 5 Rules
Inspiration
Confusing Kindness with Weakness
When Katie Couric Got Pulled Off the Air…
Don't second guess the deceased
Pain and legacies
Being in the No
The Sixth Sense
Dogs in Danger
Facebook, LinkedIn and the Zuckerberg Exit
Simon Bolivar Would Tell Glenn Beck to, ‘Put A Sock In It’
Children and Grandchildren
Swearing, Shoes, and Mark Twain
How my poor man's Porsche, Virgil, prepared me for life
Leases and Landing Gear
The Oscars, Obama and Job Creation
Damages and Penalties
Obstacles with Impossibilities
Making Others Feel Bad
Referrals and Recommendations
Woodpecker Frustration
Phrases, Not Resolutions
I Was A Crime Fighter and Super Hero
Comforting with Sympathizing
Nautical Worry Killers
Can You Keep A Secret?
Holiday Card Hazards
Gifts
Sharing, Transparency and Dumping
Red Alert
Readers Respond Regarding Rabbi
Readers: I Need Your Help with my Rabbi
Humphrey Bogart and P. T. Barnum on Fighting with Family and Friends
Columbus, Honors and Hound Dogs
The Free Lunch
When your child suffers
Conversational Transmitted Diseases
Conservative, Liberal or American
Paris, Antarctica and Shopping
Personal Protection
Dispute Resolution
Jumped or Pushed?
Friends and Acquaintances
Revenge and Vindication

© 2010 Alan Douglas

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles