Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 13, 2011 / 11 Tammuz, 5771

An iChat with my grandson

By Sharon Randall




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's one of those things -- there are lots of them these days -- that make me wonder: What on Earth would my grandmothers have to say about this?

Yesterday, thanks to Natalie, my wonderful daughter-in-law's wonderful sister, we set up on my computer something called iChat, a wondrous bit of e-magic that lets me "video conference" with anyone I choose -- namely, my 10-month-old grandson.

It wasn't easy to set up, but it was so worth it. It didn't help, of course, that I had messed it up royally trying to do it myself without asking for help. Some people get less stubborn with age; most of us just get older.

Natalie, bless her, "talked" me through it over the phone.

"OK," she said finally, "click on the little green icon."

I held my breath and clicked.

Suddenly there was Randy in all his red-haired glory, staring at his parents' computer, wondering how and why his nana had climbed inside that little box.

When I shrieked, he blinked really fast the way he does when he splashes himself in the tub.

"You can hang up the phone now," Natalie said. "We hear you through the computer."

So I hung up, but couldn't hear a thing. "Can you hear me?"

My daughter-in-law nodded.

"But I can't hear you!" I said.

She smiled and raised a finger to say wait. Seconds later, my son held up a handwritten note that read: "Turn up the volume on your computer."

I turned it up and heard their laughter and saw their sweet faces crowded together shining at me from a computer, of all things. And I shined, too.

When I was 4 years old, my mother remarried against my advice, and took me from my grandmother's house, the only home I knew, to live 10 miles away with her new husband.

Ten miles may not seem like much to you. But to a 4-year-old on a tricycle, it's forever.

"Here," said my grandmother, slipping me a scrap of paper, "learn this by heart."

So I memorized her phone number and called her every day. Sometimes twice. It wasn't the same as being together, but it was the best we could do. And somehow, it was enough.

That was my mother's mother. My dad's mother lived in the mountains far away -- 30 miles as the crow flies, said my dad.

I went to visit her every time my mother allowed it, weekends and summer vacations. I was 10 when she got her first telephone -- a "party line" shared with a few neighbors. You'd be amazed at what you can learn about people sharing a party line.

I also learned her number by heart, and called her every day until the phone bill arrived and my mother explained in terms I would not soon forget the meaning of "long distance."

When I grew up and moved 3,000 miles away, I took my grandmothers' numbers with me. I didn't call often -- not as often as I should -- but I never forgot them. You don't forget things you learn by heart.

I remember the sound of their voices, how happy they always were to hear from me. It wasn't the same as being together, but it was the best we could do. And somehow it was enough.

I can't imagine their reactions to an iChat -- if they could have seen my children's faces and watched their eyes light up in recognition when they called.

Tonight, from 500 miles away, I watched my grandson smile at me from a computer and take a few first steps on his own.

I wish you could've seen him.

I wonder. Years from now, how will he stay connected to his grandchildren? As my grandmothers used to say, it's worth waking up each day just to see what will happen next.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:


Lightening bugs and other things make us glow

Each and every Fourth of July a cause for celebration



© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles