Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 6, 2010/ 24 Tamuz 5770

Single issue

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Ah, July, the wedding season. What a great time of the year to not marry.

So suggest Jessica Bennett and Jesse Ellison in the June 11 edition of Newsweek magazine.

The two young, urban women write that marriage no longer makes sense -- that it ought to be replaced by a series of relationships, "mostly monogamous," over time.

They say that, thanks to the feminist movement, women no longer need husbands for financial security -- that women make plenty of dough on their own.

They say that it is unrealistic to commit to one other person for life.

They are wrong, of course. Most men and women are worse off not married. I know. I'm still single.

Single men are a scourge on society. We do stupid things, take chances, eat badly, smoke too much and are far likelier than married men to wake on a concrete floor still clutching the bottle of tequila we began sipping from just before the party broke up.

We forget important dates -- we're more likely to attend our parents' 50th wedding anniversary a week after the celebration occurred.

Pretty quickly, the youthful passions that once drove us on Friday nights to search for a woman to love and cherish are whittled down to a simple desire to sit, crack an ice-cold beer and watch the Pirates get slaughtered.

Single women do better -- but not much better. The longer they go without marrying, the more disappointed in us they become -- and rightfully so.

Pretty quickly, they get a couple of cats and go to sleep by 10 on weekend nights so they can wake early to take pottery classes with other women left empty by their impossible search for the perfect man.

The women who penned the Newsweek article believe we have been liberated by our enlightened, progressive era -- an era of unlimited choice and freedom.

I think we've let ourselves become hamstrung by it. With all our wealth, you see -- the recession notwithstanding -- we are being strangled by choice.

When we wake in the morning, we must choose among hundreds of breakfast cereals, drinks, coffees, toothpastes, shampoos, towels, clothes ...

Throughout the day we're pursued by advertisers promoting multiple products and services. Picking out a lousy pair of blue jeans -- stone-washed, acid-washed, relaxed fit -- can take an entire Saturday if you're nutty enough to waste your time that way.

And now we're applying the same approach to dating, relationships and marriage in our fruitless search for our "soulmates."

Sorry, but there is no soulmate, despite the lazy sense that someone will enter your life and make you feel all warm and fuzzy.

Human love is as much the result of work, commitment, kindness and sacrifice as of anything else.

Unlimited choice isn't what makes us happy. Genuine happiness is the result of making, and sticking by, a decision to love and care for someone -- before your family, your community and, if you're lucky enough to still have religion, your G0d.

G.K. Chesterton said marriage brings a man happiness because it limits his choice.

Could you imagine being an artist, he said, who is trying to paint a canvas as large as the moon? Where do you start painting?

By being boxed into a small rectangular area, the artist gains a point of reference and perspective. It is the frame that sets the artist free.

The authors of the Newsweek article are trying to paint the moon. It's just a matter of time, as I have learned, before they run out of paint.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2010, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles