Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 4, 2010 / 23 Tamuz 5770

Cell Phones at Summer Camp? Just Say Click

By Mitch Albom






http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Fourth of July always meant summer to me, and summer, when I was very young, meant summer camp. And summer camp meant disappearing into another world.

It was a world of woods and fields and bunks, a world without Mom and Dad, without friends from the neighborhood, without TV, without movies, a world where you wrote letters to communicate with your "other" life.

You know what? That never scared me.

Today, kids get the shakes about summer camp, because they might have to surrender their cell phone, BlackBerry, Droid, PDA, iPhone, iTouch or iPad. Some will opt out of summer camp altogether if it means they can't arrive with their plugs, adapters, chargers and monitors.

Apparently, it's a dilemma for summer camps, which, after all, need kids to operate. And it's obviously a dilemma for the campers. But after looking into this a bit, you know whose dilemma surprises me the most?

The parents.

It is often Mom and Dad who want little Joey to be in touch at all times. It is Mom and Dad who can't bear the thought of not having their baby within the press of a speed dial.

Check out the message boards and forums on camp Web sites. You will find a startling number of postings by parents who think their kids SHOULD have cell phones all through summer camp. Some worry about safety. Some worry about their child's loneliness.

Some worry about bigger issues.

We can't live in constant fear

Consider this parental response to a Houston Chronicle article about camps limiting cell phones:

"Without some means of timely communication, hormonal pre-teens are left in the control of teens and adults they don't know -- and at increased risk of sexual abuse....

"Yes, it can be a pain ... but, if it also raises a few red flags, as in 'Oh, I'm doing great. I'm Tim's favorite so he sneaks me candy in the evening,' limited cell phone use is invaluable."

Wow.

So now summer camp is one more hangout for pedophiles, and those who don't look for "red flags" are irresponsible parents? It brings me back to a question I ask more and more these days: How did we ever make it through childhood?

Apparently, there was danger lurking at every turn. Horrible people. And we just lucked our way through.

Or maybe today's freak-out parents are the result of too many shocking news stories, too many ads and too many manufacturers who know the quickest way to a sale is to make people believe they're safer with the product than without.

To which I must say -- and I'm not being glib here -- it's summer. Lighten up.

We can't enjoy life while filming it

The fact is, every counselor isn't a pedophile and little Timmy, if he's old enough for overnight camp, doesn't need to talk to Mommy and Daddy every minute. Meanwhile, if a kid has a cell phone, he usually then has a texting device, a camera, an Internet connection and a 24-hour connection to social networks like Facebook.

So I'm in favor of a ban on all electronic devices once you step on that camp bus. And like those nervous parents, I say this out of fear.

I fear kids are losing the ability to exist.

When we went to camp, we were in the moment. We jumped in the pool; we didn't film ourselves jumping in the pool. We spoke while looking eye to eye; we didn't text each other across the bunk.

Kids who have to give up their smart phones or computers for summer camp -- thereby losing touch with Facebook -- worry about becoming invisible. But they are erasing themselves from the real world every minute they spend in the virtual one.

Kids need to learn that memories are not the same as storage devices and feelings are not the same as postings. Summer camp is a great place for that. I can't remember all the sensations from childhood, but I can sure remember the heat of a campfire on my face, the freeze of a popsicle on my lips, the sweaty shirt that stuck to me after a baseball game, the excitement of a letter from home.

No phone was necessary. No one needed an alert. You can't absorb an experience if you're constantly sharing it. Remember, as kids, we didn't have any problem letting go for the summer.

As parents, we shouldn't either.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2009, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles