Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 10, 2009 18 Tamuz 5769

Political Junkies, the Doctor Is in

By Roger Simon


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A new feature: Ask Dr. Politics! A forum for civil exchange in a civil society.


Dear Dr. Politics: You attack Mark Sanford for "walking off his job" to visit his soul mate in Argentina, but you praise Sarah Palin for quitting her job when she has 18 months left to serve. Can you explain the difference? Thank you. You are a poltroon, a sluggard, a miscreant and a wretch.


Reply: The difference is that Mark Sanford continued to draw his salary during his dalliances. He took off for nearly a week, didn't tell anybody where he was going and chose funny business over state business.


Sarah Palin, on the other hand, is giving up her state paycheck rather than rip off the taxpayers while she jets around the nation speaking at political dinners or taking trips to exotic locations to "encourage trade," which is what governors usually do. Sure, she will make a bundle, but she won't make it off the people of Alaska anymore.


And even when politicians are "at work," they are not always working. According to the inestimable Mark Knoller (inestimable is a good thing), who is a CBS News White House correspondent and the unofficial statistician of the press corps, during George W. Bush's two terms in office, he spent all or part of 490 days at his Texas ranch and all or part of 487 days at Camp David. I'll do the math for you: That's 2.7 years. Or, to put it another way, George W. Bush spent one out of every three days on vacation.


OK, maybe that's unfair. Presidents do real work at their "Western White Houses" and at Camp David. And I suppose you could not preside over an unnecessary and tragic war and a devastating economic collapse without putting in some real hours.


But regarding Palin, I don't understand why people who hate her want her to stay in office. We should encourage more incumbents to quit, not fewer.


Dear Dr. Politics: Is it possible to buy some salon time with you? I think it could lead to an informative exchange of important views in a calm and serious atmosphere. Also, you are a cullion, a cur, a hound and a loggerheaded, beef-witted harpy.


Reply: Let me be clear about one thing: Dr. Politics is for sale. Dr. Politics believes what his father always told him, "G-d gave us two hands to grab all we can with them."


For $100 (nothing bigger than 10s, serial numbers not in order, nothing traceable), you can call me on the phone. For $200, I will answer the phone. For $300, I will come to your house and read my column to you. For $500, I will mow your lawn in one of those cool patterns they use at ballparks. (How do they do that, by the way?) For $1,000, I will write that you are on the "shortlist" for the 2012 Republican nomination. For $2,000, I will say you show "real potential" with "committed activists" in Iowa, New Hampshire and South Carolina. For $5,000, I will say you are a "unifying" and not a "polarizing" figure. For $10,000, I will agree not to write about you at all. I call this last one my Blue Light Front-Runner Special.


Dear Dr. Politics: Is there anybody who can beat Barack Obama? Thank you, you dankish, crook-pated, gorbellied, rough-hewn bugbear.


Reply: Much as we in the punditry business would like to pretend otherwise, the future is unpredictable. But let us imagine it is the fall of 2012, the Dow has fallen to 5,000, unemployment has risen to 20 percent, travel and commerce are paralyzed by a new Arab oil embargo, cable TV has raised its rates yet again and bands of flesh-eating zombies roam the streets.


I say Obama still wins by one to three percentage points.


Dear Dr. Politics: Obama may look unbeatable to you, but a recent Quinnipiac poll found Obama getting only a 49 percent approval rating in Ohio, which is dramatically down from his 62 percent approval rating in May. Is this indicative of a wider trend, or is this poll an outlier? Thanks, doofus.


Reply: It may be indicative of a wider trend. I cite as evidence a recent story from a major wire service that began: "WASHINGTON — Democrats achieved their biggest majority in the U.S. Senate in decades on Tuesday as Al Franken of Minnesota finally took his seat — but President Barak Obama will still have to fight hard to muster the votes to pass health care reform and other major initiatives."


When the press no longer spells the president's name correctly, that president could be in real trouble. It was a sure sign for Dik Nixon.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate