Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 14, 2008 / 11 Tamuz 5768

New Limbaugh contract inspires America

By Kathryn Lopez


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "There but for the grace of G-d go I." The phrase is usually a cautionary note. My neighbor's blunder could have been mine. My co-worker's illness could easily be my affliction. I ought to count my blessings. But the flipside of the phrase is pregnant with promise, and many Americans felt it when they learned that radio-broadcaster phenom Rush Limbaugh, who marks his 20th year "of broadcast excellence" this summer, is making media history with a new $400 million contract.

Sure, many right-wingers were happy just to know that "El Rushbo" is making more than Katie Couric. "That could be me one day," many surmise upon hearing news like that. With a little grace and hard work, maybe that kind of great success could be mine. Someday, that could be my son, if I teach him right. That sentiment — an appreciation of what's possible in America, land of the free, which includes a free market — is at the heart of the nonhardcore-Left reaction to the news.

There were, of course, complaints from the usual quarters. Ralph Nader took the occasion as an attention-grabbing opportunity, excoriating Rush with his keyboard as "the Kingboy of corporatist radio." On the Daily Kos Web site, as the news was breaking, one commentator declared, "the right has just bankrolled an eight-year radical right-radio attack on the presidency of Barack Obama." Besides ridicule and ill will, there was a lot of victory-declaring on the left-wing blogosphere and other media outlets, where the news wasn't taken as an acknowledgement of success and business acumen, but the Right conceding defeat: They'll need Limbaugh's voice because it will be all Left, all the time leading the White House and Congress come Jan. 20, was the premature declaration of victory.

That may happen, but I'm not giving up the fight yet. Heaven knows, Limbaugh goes on air nearly every day urging conservatives not to concede, but to fight; to focus on not just the White House but congressional seats this coming November, and battles long after. The host may not be a fan of John McCain, but he sees the existential threats American and human dignity face today and tomorrow.

As an Army lieutenant e-mailed me about the Limbaugh news, "Count me as one who is ecstatic about Rush Limbaugh and his big contract. I admit to being jealous, but in a positive way, since I know I have never deserved the kind of money he can generate. I hope he lives to be a hundred and gets more money every year until he checks out of the net. Anybody who begrudges his success has the right to see if they can do what he does better than he and knock him off his perch as the best radio entertainer around. Nobody so far even comes close; certainly no liberal or moderate."

This is how Americans tend to react. A recent Pew poll found that "being wealthy" is far from the top priority of Americans — things like "having enough time to do things you want to do," "being successful in a career" and "having children." "Being married" rated in the top 50 percent, while "being wealthy" rates a 13 percent. Even though it's not the be-all, end-all for Americans to be rich, they are optimistic they could be and will be — having that motivational hope, even when probably not entirely realistic. One 2000 Time magazine survey had 20 percent of Americans polled optimistic that they would someday be in the top 1 percent of American earners.

That was bad news for Democratic presidential nominee Al Gore in 2000, who attacked the top 1 percent. It's why McCain doesn't help himself with conservatives or the wide swath of American voters when he rails against executive pay, as he tends to. He's adapted Democratic rhetoric. While the Left tends to use "us and them" as part of their electoral strategy — making Americans feel like victims who need to be saved by the government — conservatives tend to try to capture the optimistic imaginations of Americans.

In this summer of high gas prices, imagine if McCain could talk about American exceptionalism, and, for example, embrace the opportunity that our discovery-spirit can present if we were to explore new drilling options in Alaska.

I don't know whether McCain will. I know he could if he wanted to. The Arizona senator and former prisoner of war has an inspiring personal story of national service and country "love," as a recent campaign commercial put it. I do know that Limbaugh inspires such things by words and example — as one who has worked hard, fallen and gotten up again, making clear that we're all human, living in a country where the possibilities are endless. Excessive regulation, overbearing taxation, demagoguing about what Europe thinks about us — these burdens and distractions hurt the civic morale and make the dream harder to achieve. Instead of patronizing, paternalistic governing by bureaucracy, if whoever takes the oath of office in January wants to protect and defend the Constitution, and let us otherwise live free in this great country full of citizens on the Left and Right, we'll be in good shape to keep dreaming.

Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, Newspaper Enterprise Assn.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles