Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 10, 2008 / 7 Tamuz 5768

Reflecting on good health

By Ed Koch


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | On July 3rd, I was in my law office on the 37th floor looking across the city thinking about my pending trip to Chapel Hill, North Carolina, to celebrate the Fourth of July with close friends when the phone rang. It was my secretary announcing that my friend and doctor, Joe Tenenbaum, was on the line. I picked up the phone and said, "Hi, Joe, what's up?" He replied, "Good morning, Ed. I'm calling to tell you that your coumadin (a blood thinner) level is right on target; continue with it for a month and we'll test it again." He went on, "Nine years ago, (1999) on July 4th you were in the hospital [I had had a heart attack a few days before and was recovering from an angioplasty to open two blocked arteries]. And here you are, a healthy man. Have a good holiday."

Dr. Tenenbaum's call made me reflect on the fact that I am indeed relatively healthy, lucky and appreciative to the Almighty for having protected me over the years. I am 83 years old and, like many at my age, I read the obituaries in The New York Times, which I first started to do about ten years ago. It appears to me that as many people are dying in their 70s as in their 80s. I've noticed that many of my conversations with friends - most of them are in their 70s - are about ailments from which we are suffering. Looking back, I think to myself that my medical incidents have been few and far between.

My scariest major medical event took place in 1987 when I suffered a stroke. My overwhelming fear was that I would be paralyzed. God was good, and I walked out of the hospital four days later without any motor impairment. I recall the following weekend going for a walk, being recognized by a New Yorker who clearly had had a stroke and was being assisted while walking. He came over to me and said, "Mayor, can I have the name of your doctor?" Of course, I gave him Joe Tenenbaum's name and silently wished him well. I hasten to add that Dr. Jay Mohr, neurologist, was actually in charge of my treatment.

In 2000, I had surgery to deal with an enlarged non-cancerous prostate. That condition, while the least dangerous, was the most bothersome. It affected the frequency of urination and required the insertion of a catheter. It was relatively easy to remedy with what many refer to as a rotor-rooter operation to reduce the size of the prostate.

For the last year and a half, I have had a painful back condition. Millions of American men and women suffer low back pain. My condition is called stenosis, a narrowing of the spine that impinges on nerves and causes pain. In my case, the pain appeared in my left thigh. It was, on occasion, very intense. On a scale of one to ten, the latter being the worst, it was an 8 at times. I finally concluded there was no alternative but to have an operation, and I announced to the readers of my weekly commentary that I would not be writing for a couple of weeks.

I received a note from an old friend to the effect, "Don't have an operation. Wendy [his wife] had a similar condition and received total relief from a chiropractor using a stretching machine called the DRX9000. Try it before you are operated on."

My friend provided the name and phone number of the chiropractor, Dr. Alex Eingorn. I called, and ultimately scheduled 20 visits. The DRX9000 is a table attached to a machine that with pulleys, I think, places a weight of 110 lbs. (measured for my condition) on my spine and over a 35-minute period, stretches it. There is absolutely no pain in the stretching. There is a moment of pain when the stretching stops and, I assume, the spine collapses to its original position. When I first saw the device and was strapped to it, I told the doctor, "The last time I saw this machine was in 1492. You've improved it." Twenty visits later, I felt a lessening of the pain and a gain in walking ability of about five to ten percent. I said, let's continue. After the 23rd visit, I was literally shocked on awakening that day to find the pain gone. It came back the next day. It now comes and goes, but I have no doubt I am getting better.

During the Fourth of July weekend, I enjoyed walks with friends. I don't know whether my apparent change in condition is real or due to a placebo effect, which in different settings including the taking of prescription pills for other conditions, can exceed 30 percent. But who cares, certainly not me, whether real or placebo. Since the stretchings, I am walking more and more without pain, even though the pain returns. G-d is good.

As the song in "Follies" by Stephen Sondheim goes, "I'm still here."


While spending the long weekend in Chapel Hill, I learned of a danger to the health of all of us. I learned from media reports that lab experiments have shown the chemical tetrabutyltin, a component of plastic cups and bottles from which we drink soda and coffee, leaches into liquids and is carcinogenic. I believe it is also a component of the plastic piping currently used to bring water into our homes. Some historians believe the Roman Empire was ultimately destroyed because they used lead pipes in the aqueducts bringing water into their homes which reduced their IQs. It is not my intention to alarm, since the negative reports are preliminary, but there have already been announcements in the media not to use plastic bottles when feeding infants.

You can be sure the plastics industry will fight any restrictions tooth and nail. Remember how the CEOs of cigarette companies came before Congress and answered "No" to the question, "Do you believe cigarette smoking causes cancer?" No one was punished for that testimony and cigarettes are still lawfully sold and are still causing cancer. The real villains are the members of Congress in both parties who permit the abuse of the public in so many areas to continue unchecked.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Edward I. Koch, the former mayor of New York, can be heard on Bloomberg Radio (WBBR 1130 AM) every Sunday from 9-10 am . Comment by clicking here.

Archives


© 2008, Ed Koch

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles