Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 29, 2008 / 26 Tamuz 5768

Actors going by the (comic) book

By Mitch Albom


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm a very serious actor.


And I'm wearing a cape.


I've done Shakespeare in the Park. I've done Circle Rep. I've done experimental performance art workshops in which I played a half-eaten apple.


I'm a very serious actor.


And I'm wearing tights.


I have stage cred like you wouldn't believe. Worked in London's West End and New York's off-Broadway. Been to Russia to do Chekov, to Germany to do Brecht. Been to Ireland to do Beckett at the Abbey Theater. They loved me. Brought the house down.


I'm a very serious actor.


I'm wearing a utility belt.


I am playing Aquaman. Or maybe it's Superman. It could be the Flash ‘ he's the one who runs, isn't he? It's so hard to keep straight. Most of the time, I am hanging by wires in front of a giant green screen. I could be anybody. Well, anybody who flies through the air. I hang while they get the lights and the wind and the computers just right.


Then all I do is look straight ahead.


I'm a very serious actor.


Under my mask.


EVERYBODY'S DOING IT
What else can I do? What is everyone else doing? Playing a superhero, that's what they're doing. Take Robert Downey, Jr. An actor's actor. We all love him. He did one small art film after another. Played drug addicts and psychotics. Played Charlie Chaplin, for pete's sake. Got nominated for an Oscar.


But once he put on the Iron Man suit, everything changed. Now Downey rules the world. So why not me? I can stand inside armor as well as the next guy.


What about Edward Norton? His chops are immense. Did you see him in "The Painted Veil" or "The Illusionist" or "Primal Fear"? No?


I bet you saw him in "The Incredible Hulk."


Once you go green, you never go back.


What about Heath Ledger? Poor guy. Played Casanova. Brilliant. Played Ned Kelly. Brilliant. Does "Brokeback Mountain" so well it makes you cry. But only when he paints his face white and his lips red in a Joker smile is he immortalized.


OK. Also because he died. But I'm not going that far for my art.


These rubber gloves are tough enough.

BATTLE IS ON FOR SUPERHEROES
Playing superheroes used to beneath serious actors like me. You wanted the Hulk, you got Lou Ferrigno. You wanted Batman, you got Adam West. Superheroes were for bodybuilders or ex-athletes. Why do you think they got Schwarzenegger for "Conan The Barbarian"? It wasn't because Olivier was busy.


But now Arnold is governor, and Tobey McGuire is Spider-Man, and Will Smith is Hancock and Christian Bale is Batman and, well, the bloom is off and the battle is on. We are all scrambling for capes and rubber suits. We are all grabbing at power boots and night vision. We are all ready to wear our underwear on the outside.


We are fighting to be Captain America, Nick Fury, Green Lantern, Green Arrow, the Avengers, the Justice League, Wonder Woman, or the Sub-Mariner. Whatever's left. Any character, anywhere. Above ground. Under water. You name it. There are just two words that matter in Hollywood now.


Comic. Book.


So I'm a very serious actor. And today I punch a dragon. Or maybe it's an eel. It might be a sorcerer, or it might come from another planet. Hey, I might come from another planet. Or I'm the tragic victim of an experiment gone wrong. Bugs. There could be bugs involved. Or green skin. Or a midnight transformation.


All I know is Godot will have wait. No Salesman will be dying. The Importance of Being Earnest is less important than the Importance of Being an Earner.


I'm a very serious actor.


Excuse me. Gotta fly.


No, seriously. I gotta fly.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MITCH'S LATEST
"For One More Day"  

"For One More Day" is the story of a mother and a son, and a relationship that covers a lifetime and beyond. It explores the question: What would you do if you could spend one more day with a lost loved one? Sales help fund JWR.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2008, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles